When Back Pain Is Not Really Back Pain After All

For the last few weeks I have been suffering with some middle back pain or what I thought was back pain. After making yet another trip to the doctor, I now was told I have a dislocated rib. Fabulous….just what I need. No wonder it hurts every time I take a breath! So as you can imagine, I was told to rest, use ice and heat, and rest some more. I just had to laugh, me rest…can you even imagine? Ice and heat…sure….when I have time maybe. Again…I laughed even harder at this one.

Which meant after receiving this diagnosis mid week, my workouts became nothing. And to make things even more funny, we had already made plans for an trial run of sleeping in our SUV overnight while camping. And lets face it, if the good old doc would have told me that this would have been a bad idea I would of laughed hysterically at this one. So I decided not to tell him our plans….and continue on with this fun adventure. More on this later in the week….

Here is what a week of pain and rest was like for me:

Sunday: 3 mile evening walk and a nine basket game of disc golf

Monday: 3 mile evening walk and an abdominal workout at home

Tuesday: crunches and 30 minutes on the recumbent bike

Wednesday: gym: 30 minute elliptical, stretching

Thursday: rest

Friday: rest

Saturday:rest

On the flip side of things, I did not cook dinner one single night this week. HOORAY!!!! My boys took over the kitchen and wow, can my son cook. We had chili rellenos for the first time ever. YUUMMMM!!!! He did a fabulous job and knows exactly what his mom likes.

IMG_7518

My husband made his specialty of bacon cheesewiches….which was one of his family favorites apparently, when they were growing up. Good…odd…but oh so good.

IMG_7523

And grilled brats and sushi were all on the menu for the rest of the week. It was great to be able to sit back and relax while someone else figured out dinner for once.

Here to hoping next week I feel better and can manage workouts and lifting kids all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

