Active Lifestyle+Age=Aches and Pains

You can eat right, exercise, and drink all the water you want but sometimes your body just says….ENOUGH! If you’ve been noticing on these weekly posts regarding what I have done for workouts each week I have been adding a lot more stretching to try an alleviate some aches and pains I have been having. Well, it’s not working and I came to the conclusion that maybe I just need to give my joints a break. More precisely, I need to give my knees and ankles a break. Yes, I know they have never been strong especially my ankles, but recently I have had a sore knee. It plagues me most when going up steps and seems very weak and unstable. So before I do real damage, which hopefully I have not already done, I made a deal that I would take it easy for a week and see what happens. I made this deal with myself Monday evening after my 3 mile walk when I was miserable after I finally arrived home. So here is a look at my easy exercise week….which was not so easy mentally but needed.

Sunday: 3 mile trail hike

Monday: home: 1 mile walk with my kiddos, full body weight workout and 3 mile evening walk

Tuesday: rest

Wednesday: upper body weights in laying/sitting position and rowing

Thursday: upper body weights and rowing+ 1.5 mile slow walk on level ground since my knee seemed to be feeling better today I thought I would give a slow walk a try. No pain during or after so I am hoping that it’s on the mend

Friday: rest

Saturday: gym: 30 minute elliptical

Not a week I was hoping for but it is what it is. I am trying to learn to listen to my body but at the same time I also know moving helps my body feel better. So it’s a double edge sword at times. In my heart I know walking on pavement, black top, and cement gives me pain. However, dirt trails are not always close by or time prevents me from making the trip to one so I settle for this alternative. Lately, with the snow and ice gone, I have been spending much more time on hard surfaces and I am hoping this is what is causing my joint issues. Time will tell…

 

Leave a Reply

