Weekend Recap….REI Garage Sale Deals, BBQ, and a Trail

We had a fantastic weekend….I can’t believe it’s over with already.

Our weekend started with an early morning rise and shine wake up at 4a.m. to leave and hit the road by 5a.m. and travel to our nearest REI outdoor store for a “garage sale”. This is something we do about twice a year and this time we brought our son and his friend along for their first one ever. Even though it was cold(very cold) and very early…it sure was nice to stand in line and talk with individuals that have done we we do. Many of us have seen the same places and have experienced the awwww that we have experienced in our adventures. The way that we can all understand each other and the need to be outside and in nature is something I cherish since many people don’t understand the meaning behind what we do. Anyhow, this is always quite an event. We have seen breakfast prepared in line numerous times.

IMG_7193

It’s sort of like Black Friday for outdoor lovers since there is always people that camp out overnight.

IMG_7194

However, this time we really were quite chilled. I ended up sitting in the vehicle twice to warm up in two hours of waiting in line, all while the guys kept our spot.

IMG_7195

In the end it was all worth it. I found my next pair of Keen hiking boots, my first pair of Chaco sandals, my husband found some treasures, and so did our son. Well worth the early wake up call, the chill we had for the rest of the day, and the fun we had chatting with others.

After this it was one more retail store….Trader Joe’s….oh boy, did we find treasures here and then it was time to eat lunch. We were all very hungry and I had been told of this BBQ restaurant in the near by city of Grafton from a friend. Which was also on our way home so we decided to give it a try. What a nice little city this ended up being.

IMG_7196

We found this restaurant easily located off the highway.

IMG_7198

The atmosphere was clean, friendly and welcoming.

IMG_7199

The menu was huge….so much to choose from and so many great entrees.

IMG_7200

And when our food arrived I was in heaven. And remember, I am not a big meat eater and this was some of the best BBQ I have ever eaten. I ordered the brisket reuben and its was fabulous.

IMG_7201

It was so huge I hardly touched my fries. They offer six different style BBQ sauces at the table for you to choose from and numerous different sides to replace the fries if you wish.I highly recommend visiting this place if your in the area of Grafton, WI and love BBQ.

Sunday consisted of meal prep, chores, and a solo trail walk since the hubby was off doing his own thing and our son was working.

IMG_7212

I came across the first snake sighting of 2017 that I could actually capture a picture of since he had no hope of moving anytime soon. If you know how much I LOVE  despise these creatures, you will also know this was the best way for me to see them….dead!

IMG_7204

I also witness a boy catch a very nice northern pike on the Bay of Green Bay ice fishing.

IMG_7218

All in all it was a wonderful weekend. Lots of family time, some alone time, and some much needed fun all wrapped into two days.

5 thoughts on “Weekend Recap….REI Garage Sale Deals, BBQ, and a Trail

  1. I used to live across the river from atlas. Never ate there because my poor college student budget could never afford it and I much preferred eating at the stilt house in cedarburg (also a lot of good restaurants there). But snakes, noooope. No thank you.

    • I can see it being a little high in price when living on a college budget. Although, I felt they were close if not a bit cheaper than any BBQ restaurant we have here in Green Bay or surrounding areas.
      We will have to check into the restaurants in Cedarburg next time….which won’t be for a few months now but thanks for the suggestion.

Leave a Reply

