Curry Lentil Stew

Recently, I found a half bag of lentils that I did not know I still had in the pantry. And since I am the only person in my house that will willingly eat lentils, I could do what I wished with them and curry was what came to mind first. So to the kitchen I went with veggies, spices, and lentils in hand and I started adding things to the pot and this is what evolved…..scrumptious lentil curry stew. Oh my, was it yummy. Thankfully, I wrote it all down as I went to share with you in the instance it was a success and here we are.

Curry Lentil Stew

1/2 cup onion- diced

2 celery stalks-diced

 1 large carrot- diced

2 TBSP. olive oil

1 can(14.5 oz) diced tomatoes

1 garlic clove-minced

1 1/4 c. lentils

3 1/2 cups water

3 tsp. chicken bouillon

1 tsp. curry powder

1/2 cup half and half(optional)

First, I took the onion, celery, and carrot and sauteed them in the olive oil until tender, about 10 minutes.

 IMG_6987

Next, I added the garlic, tomatoes, chicken bouillon, lentils, water, and curry powder. Mix these well and turn the heat down to a simmer. Cover the pot and let them cook for approximately 45 minutes or until the lentils are tender. Watch that the liquid does not completely absorb, if this happens, add another 1/2 cup or so.

IMG_6992

After the lentils are tender take it off the heat and add in the half and half, mixing this well. This will add a creaminess to the stew although, it is not necessary and can be left out if you prefer.

IMG_6998

Lentils are a good source of potassium, calcium, zinc, niacin and vitamin K, but are particularly rich in dietary fiber, lean protein, folate and iron. They are wonderful for digestive health along with stabilizing blood sugar. Although, many people shy away from them since they are pretty bland unless you spice them up a bit. Try this recipe and you may just become a lentil lover.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Curry Lentil Stew

Leave a Reply

