Egg and Roasted Potato Casserole

This recipe came about when I noticed I had a bunch of roasted potatoes from the night before when I thought our son was going to be home for dinner and then, like usual, plans changed and he was not. If there is one thing I hate doing it’s throwing out food. So I needed to think of something to do with these potatoes and this is what I came up with. I prepared and egg and potato casserole and it turned out so good I thought I would share it here with all of you.

IMG_7002

Now first, if you would not happen to have left over roasted potatoes that is going to be the first thing you will need to prepare. You simply take your potatoes, wash them, cut them into cubes and toss them with salt and pepper and a little olive oil. Doing this in a bag or large bowl works best. Then lay them on a heavy baking sheet you already sprayed with  non stick cooking spray and bake them at high heat(450) for about 20 minutes or until tender.

****Since I used my left over potatoes I prepared this casserole with cooled potatoes.

Egg and Roasted Potato Casserole

12 eggs

left over roasted potatoes(about 2-3 cups diced)

hand full of spinach – roughly cut into strips

bacon pieces( I used the whole package)

small onion-diced

1/2 green pepper-diced

cheddar cheese(optional) (I used about 1/2 cup)

salt and pepper to taste

First, you will need an 8×8 baking dish and spray this with non stick cooking spray.

Dice your onion and green pepper and microwave them together in a safe bowl covered with plastic wrap for 1-2 minutes.

Lay your potatoes in the bottom of your casserole.

Layer the onion, peppers, spinach and bacon over the potatoes.

IMG_7006

Crack and whisk 12 eggs and add salt and pepper to taste. Pour this over the potatoes.

IMG_7007

Bake this at 350 for 40 minutes.

Take it out and check with a knife or toothpick if the center is set. If so, layer your cheese on top and bake an additional 5 minutes or until the cheese is melted.

IMG_7009

Serve with toast, english muffins, roasted broccoli as I did or alone if you prefer.

This was a great, quick and easy way to use up leftovers and feed my entire family a healthy meal. You can bet the next time we have roasted potatoes for dinner I will make a few extras to have for the next day. This way I can prepare this casserole once again.

2 thoughts on “Egg and Roasted Potato Casserole

Leave a Reply

