Back On Track With Workouts And In The Kitchen

After needing three days to recover my very sore joints from mountain hiking without any training in the Smoky Mountains….I am finally back to a normal workout routine. I eased slowly back into it and now feel better for not pushing myself too soon. I was really sore when we returned home for this trip. Here’s what my week was like:

Sunday: gym:30 minute elliptical, stretching

Monday: home: total body weight routine, mall walk 3 miles

IMG_6428

Tuesday: gym: 45 minutes elliptical and stretching

Wednesday: yoga and upper body weights

IMG_5030

Thursday: gym: 30 minute elliptical, rowing, abdominal workout, and stretching

Friday: rest

Saturday: gym: 45 minutes elliptical, rowing, stretching

IMG_20161125_0846595_rewind

One of the nicest things after being away from home is eating at our dining room table. I like eating out but not every meal, every day. This is why, when we do travel, we will often make a grocery store trip for dinner and enjoy it in our hotel room instead of a noisy restaurant.

After a quick trip to the grocery store when we returned home, this is what I came up with for the week in meals.

Pot roast(thank goodness for the crock pot the day after vacation). Super easy and basically cooks itself with little preparation needed.

IMG_6929

Chicken potpie with biscuit topping. I used this recipe but topped it with biscuits instead of corn bread.

IMG_6931

IMG_6932

By mid week I was feeling good again so I tried a new recipe, tater tot chicken and spinach casserole. Everyone agreed…..success. It was so simple and so delicious. I also made roasted broccoli and roasted whole garlic cloves to go with it.

IMG_6936

And one evening we had shredded chicken salads. I love meal salads and try and have them at least once a week.

IMG_4111

Not too bad for throwing together the meal plan and grocery list on the plane ride home.

 

Leave a Reply

