Coconut Water Smoothies

If you recall a while back I mentioned trying a recommendation from a friend regarding coconut water to aid in charlie horses in one of my legs after a workout. Since posting about this I have gotten a few requests on what type of smoothies I have been preparing since I was not a big fan of the coconut water straight from the bottle. So I thought I would share with you what I have come up with so far and maybe you can get relief with these painful muscles spasms also.

First, let me just say, I did start online researching what everyone else has been adding to their smoothie concoctions. I struggled to find a smoothie that did not add protein powder which I don’t believe in getting in powder form so I ended up starting from scratch. Protein powder has always been, in my option, a fad and I see no reason to not get enough protein in your daily diet rather than by expensive, gritty, powder form in a drink.

So without further ado, here is what I have tested and has been a big hit for me. The first thing I did is made a trip to the grocery store for some frozen fruit. Fresh would also work but it’s winter here so frozen was just more logical. I took it home, thawed it, and blended up my chosen fruits.

IMG_6464

I froze these blended fruits in small cups for single serving smoothies in minutes when needed.

I also purchased coconut water and a blender bottle, found at most discount, drug, or vitamin stores.

IMG_6506

Then it was time to experiment with different blends and here are the favorites so far.

Blueberry Burst:

8-12 oz. coconut water, 6 oz. vanilla yogurt of choice, 1- 4oz. cup of blended blueberries, 2 Tbs. ground flax seed. Shake well and enjoy.

Orange Tropics:

8 oz. coconut water, 4 oz orange juice, 6 oz. vanilla yogurt of choice, 4 oz. blended peaches, and 2Tbs. ground flax seed

Strawberry Fields:  8-12 oz. coconut water, 4oz. blended strawberries, 6 oz. vanilla yogurt of choice, 2 Tbs. ground flax seed

This is all I have come up with so far. Although, I have been thinking about a mixed berry creation, and a mango mixture for the next trip to the grocery store. Honestly, you will have to just experiment with things you enjoy. Think powdered peanut butter, almond milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, mashed banana, chocolate or shredded coconut…..all these would be wonderful additions or ingredients to come up with your own post workout drink.

Also, you may want to read the label on the coconut water you purchase. Many have added sugars that will make them taste better but ultimately won’t be serving the purpose of drinking this rehydrating beverage.

Let me know if you come up with an especially tasty one, I would love to try it myself.

Leave a Reply

