Your New Year Resolution Is To Join A Gym But Excuses Are Getting In The Way

You want to join a gym but you don’t think you have time, you can’t afford it, you don’t want others to look at you, you sweat like a pig, you……yadayadayada!

Does this sound familiar to anyone? I know I have heard it many times… actually many, many, many times. And when I do I just shrug it off, go on my way and think…..ha, you had time to sit and watch a two hour movie on Netflix last night, you had money to purchase coffee every morning this week, and people will look at you no matter anywhere you go, and of course your going to sweat that is what happens when you exercise.

With the new year right around the corner and everyone planning to jump on the good ole diet and exercise party bus…..I know there are some of you that want to join a gym,start exercising, and just plain feel better about your health in general. And I also know there are some of you that want this but won’t because of the fear of exercising in public. I want to ensure you all, exercise may be difficult, it may be sweaty, it may be painful at first, but the hardest part of making this wish a reality is taking that first step through the front door of your preferred gym. I know, I have been there, and I have taken that first step with friends and family because they had this same wish. For me, however, I did it all alone and I have not looked back since.

IMG_20161125_0850350_rewind

Belonging to a gym and to have others around you working to achieve the same health goals is empowering. It’s not a fashion show and no one will care if your bottoms match your tops or if your shoes match your headband. No one is judging you, watching how much weight you lift or how many minutes you run on the treadmill. Everyone is in their own little world, listing to their own playlist, and doing what feels best for their bodies. And everyone is sweating…..and if they are not then they are not there for the right reasons.

IMG_20161125_0846595_rewind

So if your at home debating starting your own journey down the road of health and fitness I encourage you to take that first step through the door of your preferred gym and go for it. Most gyms are very affordable, most offer classes if you need assistance, and all will show you the ropes if you have never stepped foot on a cardio machine in your life. You will be so proud and feel so amazing after the initial stiffness wears off that I bet you never look back either.

Now get up, put on some shoes, grab a water bottle, stand up tall, hold your head high, and take that first step toward your health.

I am rooting for you…..

 

 

4 thoughts on “Your New Year Resolution Is To Join A Gym But Excuses Are Getting In The Way

  1. You sound like a real Planet Fitness customer. Haha. The no judgement zone. I’m a member too.

    Like you, I’ve heard the same complaints from people about why they want to join a gym but “can’t”.

    Then I go to PF and see people coming in who should be the ones making excuses. I’ve seen a man with a prosthetic leg, and an elderly couple coming in on their walkers.

    If people really want to make time for something, they will find a way…

    • I know, us too…..we have a member that walks in using a walker also and many others that I would love to walk up to them and give them high five(but don’t obviously).

      I completely agree, if you want it bad enough there is always a way to make it happen.

Leave a Reply

