Enjoying The Little Things

I have been really concentrating on enjoying the little things during this hectic time of year. With rude holiday shoppers, crazy drivers rushing from one place to another, and everyone stressed about the upcoming holidays it’s sometimes hard to find happiness. That’s why for me, I just concentrate on the little things to bring me happiness.

Lately, I have been feeling this need to come up with some new recipes for my family. I feel as if I have been stuck in a rut preparing the same old dinners and felt the need to change things up a bit. So I have been concentrating on making one new recipe a week….so far we have tried shredded brussel sprouts and glazed pork loin.

IMG_6275

IMG_6403

While we are on the topic of food, I have also been enjoying the colder temps because I can make as much soup as I wish and everyone is willing to eat it. This is something that does not happen in the summer months.

IMG_6406

Along with good old comfort food, like roasted root vegetables and casseroles which are always a favorite at meal time and oh so easy to prepare.

IMG_6399

IMG_6341

As the weather gets colder we find ourselves doing more short hikes around the area than longer ones. This is hard for me since I could literally walk forever on a dirt trail but at the same time, I am so thankful we have been able to still get out. We see so much wildlife when we hike here in WI and this is something that always brings a smile to my face.

IMG_6412

IMG_6424

This last hike we did was cold….like really cold. And in one week the ponds have froze over and this means my hiking days are coming to an end fast here.

IMG_6425

IMG_6426

This is not something that brings me as much joy as it brings my little kiddos that show up at my doorstep every morning for daycare but it is something special. Every year during one of the first snow falls my husband will get all dressed up and go outside and build a snowman that greets them bright and early in the morning. And that first snowman has been built already this year….and it brought such joy to so many people from neighbors to friends and family.

IMG_6389

Last but not least, let me show you our second jig saw puzzle of the winter. Normally we redo our stack of puzzles because let’s face it, there is no way to memorize where every piece goes in a 1000 piece puzzle so they really never get boring. However, once in awhile we will see one that just screams from the store shelf…..”buy me and put me together!” which this one did…..it’s so summer like that who could resist….right.

IMG_6409

What brings you joy in a hectic time of year?

Leave a Reply

