I Love Four Day Weekends….We Get So Much Done!

Here at our house the holidays are pretty laid back and casual. Typically, Thanksgiving morning I always hit up the gym first thing in the morning, my husband preps the smoker to smoke our turkey breast, and our son either works or sleeps in. This year things were a bit different…. we started out with a hike this year and a friend of mine joined in on the adventure. It was something our family has done the last few years on Christmas Day and this year I thought, why not go for a hike on Thanksgiving also. Our original planned hike was scrapped when we arrived at the trailhead and it was posted as “closed” for the gun deer hunt season.(FYI:This is why we are wearing blaze orange vests during todays hike) So after some fast thinking by my husband, we crossed town and headed to a new trail we had never hiked before but had drove past numerous times.

IMG_6249

IMG_6266

IMG_6260

IMG_6253

IMG_6255

After hiking we came home and prepared to cook Thanksgiving dinner. This is a few hour process when smoking a turkey breast so in between we did some chores.

IMG_6274

Earlier in the week, my husband finally caved to my my request to buy a new Christmas tree. So I went through our Christmas box and did some much needed tossing of old or unwanted decorations and threw a few in the donation bags I planned to drop off.

IMG_6235

IMG_6285

After dinner was cleaned up and everyone was tired and full from a fabulous meal, we started our first jigsaw puzzle of the winter. If you don’t know from past winters, this is what we do to pass the long, cold, snowy months of winter here in our house. Jigsaw puzzles are, in my opinion, mind numbing and make time pass faster than just sitting watching the clock and waiting for Spring to arrive.

IMG_6233

Then Friday, the first thing on my list was a trip to the gym. I rarely have the opportunity to workout in the morning hours so every chance I get I take full advantage of.

IMG_20161125_0851082_rewind

Then it was time to decorate for Christmas. I must say…we all love our new slim Christmas tree. We even put our old one in the drive way with a FREE sign on it for someone to utilize who may not have a tree for Christmas. It was picked up in 20 minutes…..this made us pretty happy.

IMG_6279

IMG_6281

Saturday, again started out at the gym. Why not, right?

IMG_6277

When I returned  from the gym I washed and cut all our fruits and veggies needed for the week. I also hard boiled some eggs and made egg omelet cups for the week ahead to make breakfast easier on those hectic mornings. Doing this on the weekend saves me so much time during the week when time is always hard to find.

IMG_6282

IMG_5510

My husband and son then went fishing together and I headed out for lunch with a friend and the goal of finishing my Christmas shopping. We had a wonderful lunch and great success shopping. I found everything on the list and then some.

IMG_6287

Sunday rolled around and we had discussed going for another hike to finish the trails we started on Thanksgiving day. So about mid morning we headed out and began our hike and ended up hiking for almost 4 miles and seeing some fabulous wildlife.

IMG_6326

IMG_6329

I must say….I have been a resident of Green Bay for my entire life and have never known these trails existed…..and now I plan to hike them regularly they are so nice. I will blog more about these in an upcoming post, but wow, what a great place to hike. See for yourself.

IMG_6310

IMG_6306

IMG_6290

IMG_6311

Leave a Reply

