Saturday Morning With The Pitter Patter Of Rain On The Roof Top

Saturday morning I was awakened by the pitter patter of rain which was music to my ears. There is nothing worse than having a “to do” list a mile long, the day off, and gorgeous sunny skies that just call your name to come out and have fun in. Clearly, we are very limited on our summer weekends here in the midwest. However, sometimes I really just need to have a full day to get things done and that is exactly what a rainy day offers me…the chance to not feel terrible wasting a sun filled summer day to do chores.

First thing off the list was to load up the SUV with every comforter, rug, and pillow we own in our house and off to the laundry mat we went. We prepared the washers, grabbed some magazines and read about summer fun while we waited….all while it was raining a steady stream of moisture from the skies above.

IMG_5282

After this I returned home to prepare a big batch of vegetable soup to freeze since this is one of my favorite grab and go lunches in the fall of the year.

IMG_5278

I even blended a few containers for my babies to enjoy for lunch. I typically offer my daycare parents the choice whether to bring store bought baby food or have home made baby food prepared at our home. Most jump at the offer of homemade since many families don’t cook on a regular basis these days.

IMG_5280

I then needed to run a few errands, stop at the library to pick up some more audio books for my husband, finished cleaning the house, and then it was time for me to do something fun. All my chores were complete, the sun was trying hard to peak through the clouds and I was feeling good about my progress on the “to do” list. Our son was camping with friends, my husband was heading out to fish for awhile which, ultimately, left me alone and free to do as I wish.

I grabbed my workout bag to head to the gym for a Saturday sweat session and to also see the progress of the new remodel our gym is going through. We sort of have the inside scoop on this, since our son is the assistant manager at the gym, but I really wanted to see for myself how its coming along. I have no pics since I forgot my camera at home, but its coming along quite nicely. It’s a mess as of right now but I am sure it will be worth it in the end. I am really pumped to see the new cardio equipment they are bringing in….I hear its going to be really nice…..shhhh!

After the gym I did a little shopping. I am on a mission to find some new outfits to wear in Sedona in a few weeks.

The week ahead looks to be jammed packed with things that just all fell on the same week. We have a plan all worked out to stay on track with our active vacation training plan but I believe by Friday I may be exhausted with everything else added to the week. Although, having a plan is half the battle and we already have that so I feel confident we can try and make this work.

You all have a great week and I will stop back in for a quick hi later in the week if I can find some spare time. If not, hold your head high, smile and don’t forget to breathe…..that’s what I will be doing all week long.

IMG_3978

 

Leave a Reply

