Currently….

Can you believe it’s the middle of August? I feel as if summer flew by this year.

In two weeks children in our area will be back to school and summer as many know it will be over. Which ultimately brings me sadness but at the same time great joy. Sadness, since I love summer, sunshine, heat and summertime activities which I hate to see all come to an end.  Although, on the flip side, great joy because fall is my next favorite season. We can begin geocaching again with less bugs, I can finally enjoy the windows open during the night again since the humidity will subside some, and we eventually store our paddles for the season and trade them for our hiking boots again. So, all in all, I am sad and happy all at the same time.

As we switch seasons here in WI and prepare for some long…..very long months….stuck in our homes, I take full advantage of packing the prewinter weekends with all kinds of things. I have been working diligently on this task and have every weekend in September booked, half of October, and some of November so far. (SHHHH…don’t tell my husband. I will break this to him when the time is right since he hates when I packed our weekends full of stuff with no down time)

Let’s see, currently we have one, but working on two, weekends that will need our tent.

IMG_3968

I have a dinner out with my brother coming up that I always look forward to. We just don’t have time to connect like we should unless it’s planned and put on the calendar. Sad, but life is just so busy…

IMG_4334

I have attempted to start a hiking group in our area and have had a few really promising responses. The first, meet and greet hike, has been planned and I am really looking forward to hitting the trail with fellow hikers. I am hoping this is a success.

IMG_4861

I have plans with a few friends to travel to a nearby Harvest Festival and then take them on a canal hike in the area. Neither are big hikers but both have reaped the benefits of being active and are stepping out of their comfort zones with me a little more each time. Which is exactly why I write this blog…..to inspire people to get out, live, explore and step out of that comfort zone and experience what the world has to offer. So I am pretty pumped about this date and the plan we have set.

IMG_3184

I also have another girls day out happening soon. You see, with hunting season right around the corner, my husband and I part ways for a few weekends and he hunts and I do my thing. I am not a hunter….I see nothing wrong with hunting…..it’s just not my thing. So he goes one way and I go another and we meet back up and share events after they happen. It all works out in the end. He has fun, I have fun, and we are both happy.

IMG_3001

We also will be celebrating our 23rd anniversary this year and I am so, so, so excited to be doing this in Sedona, Arizona. Which means we have begun training for this adventure and this takes a lot of time and discipline on our parts during the week. It makes our weekdays even longer than usual, but I know it will be so worth it in the end. I plan to share our training plan with you all soon.Hint: it involves a lot of these!!!

IMG_5138

And our last planned excursion before the snow forces me inside for the winter is my annual shopping trip to my favorite place to shop….Chicago! Actually, a very nearby suburb of Chicago. This is one day I splurge on things for me….whatever I see that I like I purchase with no guilt, no regret, and no worries. I can’t wait!

IMG_2888

Besides a few random outings throw in there between all this, we are pretty well booked solid till Thanksgiving.

Do you like relaxing weekends or busy weekends?

What’s your favorite fall activity?

 

Leave a Reply

