52 Hike Challenge Officially Completed

If you all remember last year, near the end of September, I registered to do the 52 Hike Challenge along with my husband.

52hikechallengelogo

Originally this was something I choose to do to keep me motivated through the long months of winter here in WI. Which was working out wonderfully at first. Then the holidays rolled around and it got to be a little harder to go outside when the temperatures dropped. Although, it did not stop us all together. If you recall, we even went for a family hike on Christmas Day.

finished-1

And shortly after that my hiking all came to a screaming halt for a while because of an unplanned abdominal surgery at the end of January. Obviously, my health came before any goals I had set prior to all this drama but I still had the knowledge in my mind that it is only 52 hikes in a total year and I REALLY wanted to finish. If only my body would have agreed with my mind after surgery all would have been good but clearly it did not. (And neither did my surgeon)

Although, about 9 weeks after surgery I did feel well enough to go on our preplanned trip to Arkansas and this was the first time I had put on my trail boots since being laid up. I remember it being a very emotional time…..for awhile there, while I was laying on my couch trying so hard to feel better, I did not think I would ever feel good enough to hike again. Granted, it was hard hiking in Arkansas and I ended up resting way more than normal on rocks and benches along the trail side, but I was there and doing it and that was all that mattered at that moment.

IMG_3625

Which now brings me to today. About three weeks ago, we complete the 52 Hike Challenge and honestly, even with 10 weeks off completely…..it was not that big of a challenge. It was fun, rewarding, and yes, it even gave me a reason to want to heal and feel better so I could attempt to finish before the year was up. Although, I have to give a big shout out to both my husband and son who helped me get through these rough few weeks after surgery. And also to two great friends who walked the local mall with me every morning during those long winter months so I did not have to walk alone when I was ready to begin rehabilitation.

IMG_1846

Without all these people I can’t say for sure I would have recovered as fast as I did and made it back to my beloved dirt trails as quickly as I did either.

So thanks everyone for helping me complete this goal!!!! I could not have done it without all of you.

 

2 thoughts on “52 Hike Challenge Officially Completed

  1. Congratulations!!! Karen, you truly are amazing and so very inspiring!! I admire the drive you have to accomplish anything!!!

    The love and care from family and friends is everything, and I always look forward to our outings!!πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ˜‰

    I am learning about an “inner side” that is beginning to come out of myself, and with your knowledge, creativity, tough love, and passion to GO DO IT!!, you make it doable!!

    Thank you, Friend!
    Luv ya!
    Holly (definitely sore tonight) πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ

    • You just need a little help believing in yourself. That’s what friends are for.

      Maybe next year you can sign up for this 52 Hike Challenge….goals are good, they give you a reason to get up every morning.

      See you soon.

Leave a Reply

