What It’s Like Living With A Self Proclaimed GEEK

Over twenty years ago I stood in a church and was married to the love of my life. We had known each other for quite some time before tying the knot but it’s over these last 20+ years I have learned how much I did not know about my husband.

Barkhausen 4-3-16low-1(photo courtesy of Quade Byrnes Photography)

Through job changes, having a child, deaths, buying a house, numerous home/vehicle repairs, caring for each other in times of sickness, panic attacks on mountain tops, to days where I just could not imagine having to wake up to another day covered in snow….we have stood my each other through it all. I have changed, he has changed and we have changed as a couple….but the one thing that has not changed is his self proclaimed title of being a GEEK. He has been known, for as long as I have known him, to be called by anyone and everyone for help with any type of project. And let me tell you, his brain never, and I mean NEVER, stops thinking. And this is the one thing that DRIVES ME CRAZY. He knows so much about off the wall things that it is amazing. But ask him to stop and pick up milk on his way home from work…..and its likely not going to happen without a reminder. Frustrating, it is, but I have learned to love what he can do since he does it so well. Here is a bit of what living with a GEEK looks like on a daily basis in my home.

He can build almost anything from scrap…..balance beams for my daycare kids,

IMG_0182

kayak trailers,

IMG_4417 SUV camp platforms to sleep in our vehicle,

IMG_3786

to a fishing pole holder that attaches to his Jackson kayak with no holes drilled into the kayak itself.

IMG_5071

IMG_5049

Oh, and don’t forget the organic fly swatter built one evening while sitting by the campfire.

IMG_4749

We have also had to try some of the strangest food and drinks. Some of the strangest being this crab looking thing

IMG_4052

to alligator sausage(YUCK, YUCK, AND YUCK AGAIN).

IMG_1008

And then don’t forget the celery soda…..this was, by far, the WORST!!!!

IMG_4201

He comes up with the some cheap ideas to store all our watercraft. This storage idea for “the Beast” cost us $7. Now, this I didn’t mind at all since I am quite frugal.

IMG_4339

He repaired my immobilization boot after hiking with it on a few trails with some funky smelling glue type material which in turn saved me $100 to buy a new one.

IMG_0851

IMG_0987

And yes, even though not all his ideas work out as planned and there has been some failures and some bloodshed, for the most part he can fix, invent, make, and come up with a plan to do almost anything. At times as annoying as it is to watch this happen on a daily basis, I am proud to say that I am a pretty lucky person to be the one he choose to spend his life with. All in all, living with a self proclaimed GEEK is not so bad and when it is there is always wine.

IMG_1560

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

