Is There A Prescription For That?

After a few weekends of summertime fun and games I found that after every weekend I was back to recovery mode for a few days each week. I have also been watching an area of concern near my incision for some time now and decided to finally call my doctors office.

Yesterday, I went to the appointment and luckily left with good news….for the most part. The area of concern is not what we all thought. However, my soreness and swelling at the end of each day is bound to last a while longer…..and by a while, I mean probably another 6-7 months. So when this happens I was told this is my body telling me to slow down and take it easy a bit. Which, if you know me, is easier said than done!

As happy as I was to hear the area of concern was ok, my struggle was with the last part of the diagnosis…..the “take it easy a bit.” Is there a prescription for that? Because this is my time of the year to give it my all and have fun. In 6-7 months when I can give it my all it will be the dead of winter. Can’t they come up with a pill that slows people down or helps them recover faster? In this day and age, you would think so, but apparently not.

So after having a long discussion with my husband, I have come to terms with my slowed down lifestyle plan. (Well, I am trying to come to terms with it) I will be doing basic daily exercise: walking, yoga, and light weights (uggg). And when we return to the gym in fall, just cardio…..no weight machines. My weekends will be light paddling, swimming, and more walking.

If you ever had major abdominal surgery:

How long did it take to get back to normal life?

What exercises did you find helpful yet fulfilling during your recovery?

 

Leave a Reply

