GSI Bugaboo Cook Set Review

This is a review about the GSI Bugaboo Cook Set. Something I have been wanting for quite sometime now. I just could not justify spending the retail price on which is in the ball park of $70 new. I found mine at a garage sale for a whopping $3 and could not be happier with this price, the condition of the set, and the way this items performs.

IMG_4045

We are mainly planning on using this at campsites for cooking and not typically backpacking. Although, since it comes enclosed in a a nice, mesh, pull string bag and holds all the contents of the set nicely inside, I would think this could be backpack friendly. However, for one person the pot is probably too large to carry for this purpose.

Our first meal prepared in this pot was chicken alfredo. Let me first say, I LOVE THE DRAIN LID!

IMG_4049

This made draining the liquid off the cooked pasta a breeze. IMG_4052

We found that this pot heats nice and evenly and boils water in very little time. And it makes a good amount of food for a family of 2-3 people. IMG_4051

We did find that if the handle is left attached during the cooking process it does heat up and can be hard to handle. However, it is easily removable, so this is what we did while our pasta was cooking. It snaps right back on with ease so not really a big issue for us.

As for clean up, the pot is non stick which makes clean up fast and simple. IMG_4058

There are also four triangle cups that come with the set. Two with sip top lids and two without which can be used as small bowls I would assume. For us, the only contents we used were the cups for coffee in the morning. I like the size, not too big and not too small. Although, the lids did leak a bit, which I figured they would since our last GSI coffee cups lids were almost the same and they leaked also. However, I don’t prefer the sip top lids in the first place, so this was not big deal for us.

IMG_3976

Honestly, for the cost of a new set I would still hesitate to purchase this. It’s still a bit costly in my opinion. If it was for everyday use in the kitchen then it would be different and I would spend the money. In my case, finding it at a garage sale for a whopping $3 was a TERRIFIC find and we will enjoy it for years to come while enjoying the great outdoors.

What is your favorite camp item?

What piece of equipment would you spend a little more on for comfort/security? (We spent a good amount on our tent and its very rain proof as we found out recently)

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “GSI Bugaboo Cook Set Review

  1. I am a big fan of the GSI cookware, and have been using the for quite awhile. $3 is a great find. As for your question, the piece of gear I spent extra on is a Skottle from Tembo Tusk, and I should have a review of it posted later today

    • The Skottle looks pretty cool to have while camping. I will look forward to what you have to say about this item when you review it.

      Thanks and happy camping:-)

Leave a Reply

