The Good, Bad, and Ugly

****If you are squeamish refrain from reading this post.

This week I have handled it all….a bit of good, bad and ugly.

My week started out with a very good walk with a friend. We walked, talked, enjoyed wildlife, and felt great by the end.

IMG_4100

A bit of bad this week was that our son bid farewell to his Jackson Karma kayak. He had decided to sell it about two weeks ago and the person buying it came to pick it up this week. Life is changing here at our house very quickly. We are looking at it as we are aging gracefully…..all of us. He is planning on purchasing more of a touring kayak for his photography purposes and we are not sure what that means for my husband and myself as far as kayaking goes. We have always struggled to find paddlers to join us. And honestly, after talking with the gentleman that bought our son’s kayak, he has always had the same issues. For now we are keeping our river kayaks but our eyes are open to other opportunities in this sport. We plan to attend a kayak demo in the area and see what they have to offer but for the time being, we just aren’t ready to give up the flow of a great river.

IMG_4113

I also handled a bit of an ugly situation that was not expected this week. I was typing away in another room when I heard my husband arrive home, enter through the back door and our son say, “OMG what did you do???” to his dad. I immediately knew to go have a look. I entered the kitchen to see my husband with blood all over his sweatshirt, down the leg of his jeans and his hand wrapped up with his own sock. IMG_4109

As a wife of a very accident prone husband, I could only hope some of this blood was from a fish he caught since he was fishing while this happened. However, I knew in my heart, this was not the case. He had been wader fishing and fell on some slippery rocks puncturing his hand quite deep, cutting his wrist, and palm.We immediately assessed the injury, cleaned it up and debated if we needed to take a trip to the emergency room. We opted to take care of things at home, since we have had our fill of hospitals this year so far. Nothing was broke and the bleeding had, for the most part, stopped while he drove home from his favorite fishing hole. Needless to say, once he was cleaned up, wrapped up and medicated a bit, he was done for the day. But, he did catch some awesome fish!

IMG_4110

Along with some good days filled with sunshine this week, a really bad list that made me even sadder to live where I live, and a really ugly week at the gym with only one visit all week. I am just happy to finally have a weekend with sunshine and warmth upon us. We have a list a mile long….some fun, some work, so I better get at it.

See you all next week.

Get outside and enjoy some sunshine!

 

 

Leave a Reply

