Egg and Veggie Muffin Cups

It’s not very often I find myself in the kitchen coming up with new recipes anymore. Typically, meal times consists of just the two of us, since our son is now grown and rarely home. Although, recently I did experiment with some egg muffin cups for an easy, healthy breakfast option and they turned out pretty good. So I thought I would share them here with all of you.

Egg Veggie Muffin Cups

4 large whole eggs

5 large egg whites

4 slices of whole wheat bread, cubed

salt and pepper to taste

broccoli

mushrooms

onion

sweet peppers

spinach

First, I cubed up four slices of bread and placed them in a dish.

IMG_4089

Then I cleaned and chopped up my vegetable mixture. I used the vegetables listed above but feel free to use what your family likes. Then I sauteed them in their own juices until tender.

IMG_4090

Whisk your eggs together and pour them over the bread. Add your cooked vegetables and mix gently.

Spray 9 regular sized muffin cups with non stick cooking spray and fill them 3/4 full with the egg mixture. IMG_4093

Bake these at 375 for 20-22 minutes or until set in the center and brown on top. IMG_4096

This recipe makes 9 muffin cups.

I froze mine in a freezer bag for easy reheating during the week. You could enjoy them immediately if you wish.

Some other ingredients you could consider adding would be:

cheese, hot peeper, crumbled cooked bacon, or any other veggie choice.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

