No Abdominal Workouts For Me

I came upon my one month mark where I was allowed to try an abdominal exercise of my choice according to my doctor. Needless to say, I did not even try!!! I wanted to in the worst way ever but I have learned to really listen to what my body is telling me and I know I am not there yet. Every evening when my daycare children leave I am sore, tender and tired.Clearly, I feel myself slowing down and getting sore faster toward the end of the week. I also figured out that frisbee is not my activity of choice quite yet. If my four year old could throw a bit better I could catch it, but since she is not quite at that level yet, every throw she makes I bend over and pick up. After 30 or so throws, I am done!!!!

I know eventually I will bite the bullet and give an ab exercise a try. Although, I am not willing to risk going backwards in my recovery. So for now, I need to be happy with what I am able to do and move on from here.

Here is what I did this week.

Saturday: 3 mile street walk

Sunday: gym: 30 minute elliptical, stretching

Monday: 20 minute recumbent bike, 3 mile morning walk, arms and back weight routine

Tuesday: 1.5 mile morning walk

Wednesday: 30 minute recumbent bike, arm routine, stretching, 3 mile evening walk outdoors

Thursday: 20 minutes recumbent bike, arms, shoulders and legs with 10 lbs of added weight today…..yeh!

Friday: rest

My weekend looks pretty uneventful at this point. With yet another snow storm expected tomorrow, it really puts a damper on my lifestyle. However, I do have quite the list of “to do” items to accomplish. I think we have finally figured out where we are headed this summer for a mini vacation. It’s all written down on paper, now I just need to book it all online.

I also have a list to order with my REI dividend that I have been working on spending since it arrived in my mailbox weeks ago. We plan to do a lot more camping this year and there are a few things I know will add to the enjoyment of this for me. Specifically, switching out my mummy sleeping bag for a down camp comforter.

And my goal is to attend the gym twice this weekend. Hopefully my body agrees and allows this to happen.

For now, you all have a great weekend…see you Monday.

Do you prefer sleeping bags or comforters for camping?

Where is your favorite place to camp and why?

Leave a Reply

