Work Before Play

We had the best weekend here in our area. It was sunny, warm, and just plain beautiful. I have been known to be energized by sunlight which drives my husband and son a bit bonkers at times, but this past weekend it paid off. We got so much done it’s crazy but so worth it. Every year around this time we all want to get out and have some fun after being locked up in our house all winter long. Although, I am a stickler to the rule of work before play. Which is exactly what we did this weekend.

Our chore list consisted of:

go to the laundry mat to wash all rugs and big comforters….done!

IMG_1851

shred cheese to freeze….done!

IMG_3679

swap snowblower and shovels for lawnmower and rakes/clean out the shed….done!

IMG_3675

wash curtains throughout the house, vacuum out both vehicles and get car washes….done, done, done!

place the order for wine slush to be prepared for summer…..done!

IMG_2725

laminate workout diagrams to hang in my home gym for future use…..done!

IMG_3677

Our Play List Was:

Ahhh, all the work for the day is complete. Now it was time to do something fun. Originally my husband and I were going to do something together but it was so nice outside that we decided to go separate directions for a few hours. He went fishing to one of his favorite fishing holes IMG_2671

and I went for a solo hike to one of my favorite trails.

IMG_3689

I had been hoping all week that I would arrive at this trail and it would be dry enough to hike the entire distance. Thankfully when I arrived it was exactly what I was hoping to find…dry. It was also so alive with Spring, from eagles flying overhead, IMG_3701

to geese looking for open water,

IMG_3692

and caterpillars coming to life again after a long winter.

IMG_3697

It was so great to just be outside, feeling good, and breathing fresh air that I even sat on the bench near the end of the trail for awhile and just listened to all the life around me.

IMG_3696

It was quite the weekend. We accomplished so much, each had our own bit of fun, and even found time to relax and enjoy life before another work week begins.

What is your favorite thing to do when Spring weather comes?

Do you work before play or play and then work?

 

2 thoughts on “Work Before Play

  1. Play and work can be such a difficult balance as the work seems to out-do the play sometimes…but…it feels so wonderful when the work is accomplished and you can concentrate on playing. Glad you were able to enjoy!

    • I agree….there is always so much work.
      Although, overtime I have learned that life is way too short to just work, so we always make time for play regardless of how much work there is to do.

Leave a Reply

