My Journey Back To Exercising: Workouts Of The Week

I started working out again this week since I have been released from my surgeon to do what I feel is comfortable to do. However, I am not to do any abdominal exercises for another month. As I start this journey back to my normal workout schedule, I will share with you how this goes and the results.

This weeks workouts consisted of this:

Monday: walked numerous times in the airport during our 5 hour layover

Tuesday: arm weights, 2 mile mall walk(morning), 3 mile street walk(evening)

Wednesday: 30 minute recumbent bike, arm/back workout with weights, 1.5 mile morning walk

Thursday: Home:30 minute recumbent bike. arm/back workout with weights, leg workout, 1.5 mile morning walk

Gym: 20 minute elliptical

****Today was my first day back to the gym and let me just say…..it felt amazing! What a great feeling! Even though I cannot do much, I am able to spend some time on the elliptical and it gave me a high that only someone who workouts will understand.

Friday: arm and back and leg workout, 2 mile walk outside

After spending a week eating in restaurants while on vacation and 7 weeks prior to that sitting,sleeping, and recovering, I am so happy to get back some of what makes me feel good……exercise. I am sad at how much I lost in regards to stamina in the few weeks I have been fairly immobile although, I am excited to finally feel alive and somewhat normal.I know in time I will be back up to where I was prior to all this and can only hope it will be easier to achieve more since I always wanted to in the past but my body would not allow it.

Next week I return to work full time and expect that to suck much of my energy up during the day which means my daily nightly workouts could be effected. For now I will just have to listen to my body and rest if needed and workout if I have the energy after all my children are picked up. I am going to attempt to squeeze in half or all my afternoon workout into the wee morning hours before they all arrive to hopefully have a bit of rest time when they all nap in the afternoon. Which in turn, may help me achieve a nightly workout after work. That is the plan….whether it will work or not we shall see.

Have a great weekend…..if it’s nice in your area, get outside and enjoy some fresh air. We are planning to check out a favorite trail in our area and hope it’s not too wet and soggy to hike a few miles.

Oh, I almost forgot………Don’t forget to change your clocks this weekend……more daylight is a wonderful thing.

Leave a Reply

