Home Gym’s Don’t Have To Be Expensive

Let’s talk about home gyms today. With the new year right around the corner we all know that means exercise equipment will be going on sale, gyms will be crowded with January Joiners (as we label them) and diet remedies will be all over social media.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love inspiring people to exercise, lose weight and to get healthy. Although, many who start this journey fall off the wagon before real progress can be seen much less felt physically and this frustrates me. You cannot take a pill that promises you weight loss of this many pounds in this many weeks and expect to keep it off forever without some “work”. And you cannot expect that “work” to feel fantastic at first, which is why professionals will tell you to start off slow and work your way up. The one thing you can count on is that the “work” you do will eventually lead to a healthier you and that is what should keep you coming back for more.

IMG_3040

When I began my healthy journey…..years ago….I started at home. And I started with one item, a used recumbent bike my mother used for therapy after a knee surgery. I clearly remember that first time, in my mind I was going to ride that bike for 10 minutes. It’s 10 minutes, how hard can that be? Well, it was hard…..VERY HARD! I was completely ashamed that I could not ride a stationary bike for 10 minutes. However, each day it got easier and I found my body craving more activity which is when I began adding to my home gym.

IMG_1085

Granted, we are not wealthy and I could not just go out and purchase anything and everything. So I started slow and used what I could to substitute some items. I started with light weights and a stability ball. Both of which I found at a local garage sale. Then I added a weight system that I asked for from my entire family for my birthday one year. Little by little I accumulated what I now consider my home gym. And to this day I add at least one or two pieces to it every year. That is not to say, some things I have bought and sold after finding they were just not what I was looking for.(Treadmill=dreadmill…sold to the highest bidder) I also owned a rowing machine that I sold and wish I wouldn’t have. In the last 12 years, I have since replaced my original used recumbent bike for a replacement. I have used my husbands mechanical abilities and had him make me a weighted pole instead of paying money for one. And I have asked my family every year for workout equipment for Christmas that they have no clue how to use. Which leaves me with enough variety to change up my home routine whenever I feel the need for change.

IMG_3039

However, you do not need all these items to exercise at home. Here is a prime example: I recently was talking with a friend of mine who, about one year ago, finally decided to give a public gym a try and has since fell in love with exercise. Forever she thought I was crazy for craving exercise to keep my mental and physical health in check, and now she is just as crazy. Anyhow, while we were talking she was telling me that she had taken the week off of working out since she had strained her back moving some furniture. After asking her how she was now feeling and if she was going to start back at her workouts she chuckled and told me she could not wait to go after work on this day. She even told me that Saturday while doing some laundry she took two new mega bottles of laundry soap and did some weight lifting with them while in her basement. I just laughed and thought back to all the strange things I used when I first started out.

So if you are planning on making a resolution of getting healthy and starting an exercise routine, first check with your doctor. After that remember, start out slow, have a plan of attack, and don’t think you need a ton a money to get healthy. With just a few items you can be moving toward a happier, healthier you.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Home Gym’s Don’t Have To Be Expensive

  1. This is an insightful post about an often forgotten idea. It doesn’t have to be complicated to work. One of my favorite strength coaches, Ross Enamait enjoys using the world around him as a gym in addition to equipment he purchases. Before dumbbells and bars were invented, many, many people got stronger by lifting the stones they found lying around their backyards. In the military I built a ton of strength carrying water jugs, sandbags and artillery rounds as part of my job. Thanks for letting people know that they should make fitness more accessible not more complicated.
    Have a great New Year!

Leave a Reply

