Loving Lately….Plus Looking For Suggestions

As you all know winter is not my favorite time of year. There is very little I love about this season and anything and everything I can find to make me a bit happier during this time I savor. With that being said, let me share a bit of what I am loving lately. Plus, a few topics I am looking for suggestions about.

Bare Naked Granola’s New Flavor….Sea Salt Caramel Apple: I recently saw this in our local grocery store and just had to try it. I am not a huge dessert lover but this sounded like the perfect treat. I love it dry right from the palm of my hand or mixed 1/2 c. granola with 1/2 c unsweetened almond milk. I leave it soak over night or at least for a few hours to absorb the milk. Then it’s time to enjoy this sweet and salted mixture of yumminess!

IMG_2919

Broccoli Slaw: One of the hardest parts of winter here in the midwest is that there are no fresh veggies unless they are shipped from miles away. Ultimately, meaning they are not fresh. Which in turn means I often struggle to find veggie recipes to add variety to our meal time. I recently gave broccoli slaw a try and have found it to be one of my favorite go to winter time veggies. I simply saute it in a pan with a bit of olive oil or I have even flavored it with soy, teriyaki sauce and even BBQ sauce. Plus, I have also found that my daycare children devour it….which is always a plus in my eyes. IMG_2859

Durable Duffel Bags: I can’t technically say I am loving this quite yet but I will be. Right now I am planning our next vacation and know we will be taking camping gear with us.  This means I need a big, durable, sturdy duffel bag that can handle being thrown around in  the airport and in camp. I am debating between two different bags at the moment, one being the Patagonia Black Hole Duffel 120L and the second being the North Face Base Camp Duffel XL. If anyone has a recommendation for which will hold up better, I will be glad to hear your suggestion. They both seem similar, both come in nearly the same size, both are close to the same price and both have great reviews.

Double Camping Comforter: Ever since I purchased my down sleeping bag we have had a love hate relationship. I love that it keeps me nice and warm. I absolutely hate the mummy style. I move around a lot when I sleep. Just the thought of having to sleep in this sleeping bag zipped up gives me anxiety. So typically I sleep on top of my sleeping pad with the bag thrown over the top of me completely unzipped which works quite well. Although, I think we would really like a down quilt instead of hauling two separate sleeping bags every time we camp. I have looked at a few but again, I don’t know if it’s worth the money to just carry one item for sleeping. I will say, since purchasing our down comforter for our bed at home, I have never slept better with as little as one blanket on us during the winter months. If this is any measure of how happy I would be to have a down comforter for camping then I think maybe I should make this investment. What do you think????

Still Hiking: The last and final thing I am loving lately is that we are still able to hike and its the beginning of December. Yes, it’s cold and blustery at times but at least there is no snow covering our trails quite yet. I know I could hike in the snow, but honestly, I’d rather just stay inside and count the days until it all melts. So lately, I have been taking every free moment I can to venture to our local trails before they are all buried for the next few months. We even managed to sneak in a family hike the day after Thanksgiving which was quite nice.

IMG_2940 IMG_2935

IMG_2931

 

4 thoughts on “Loving Lately….Plus Looking For Suggestions

Leave a Reply

