Our Thanksgiving Day

My day started at 6a.m. when I woke up. With only us three to prepare Thanksgiving meal for I was not a bit concerned about being ready. So as I have every year for the past few I started my day with a workout. Only this year I had a workout buddy. I had been telling a friend of mine for quite sometime that exercise is the best mood elevator in the world. Not to mention it makes you feel better, healthier and so on. I think after hearing me preach this for so long she finally decided to give it a try and that is exactly what we did today.

IMG_2917

It must have been meant to be since she ironically received a free “guest pass” in the mail the day before Thanksgiving.

IMG_2916

I was very happy to have the company and she did fabulous for her first time.

After the gym I arrived home to find my husband preparing to smoke a turkey breast for the first time ever.

IMG_2921

Since this takes significantly longer than preparing an entire bird I was able to do some prep work on the whole turkey we had also planned on cooking, IMG_2915

get some laundry done (it really never ends),

IMG_2923

and dig out our Christmas decor containers.

By mid afternoon our house was smelling very yummy. The smoked turkey breast was finished and was set aside to rest,

IMG_2925

the table was set, and the roasted bird was ready for carving.

IMG_2927We ate Thanksgiving dinner as a family and the rest of the night is history. A little lounging, a little puzzle time, and a little more lounging. We all agreed it was a pretty awesome day.

 

 

Leave a Reply

