There Is Just Not Enough Hours In A Day and My Workouts of the Week

I had every intention of posting regularly this week although as you can see this plan did not happen. After spending four days and countless hours in the hospital with my father-in-law and then going back to work on Monday, I was tired. During the week we were left with only the evening hours to visit with him after working all day, which used up every ounce of energy I had left.

Let me catch you up a bit on my last week and show you what I did squeeze in for workouts. Like I said, Monday I returned to work and I must admit routine was nice. After sitting, walking the halls of a hospital and trying to wrap my head around how a cardiac ICU unit functions, I needed my routine life back. These nurses in this unit are IMPRESSIVE and that is an understatement. From patient care to family care they have it all and they even manage to throw in a little fun into the mix at times also.

 watching the GB Packer game in the CICUIMG_20151108_152240_burst_02

We could not have wished for a better team of professional to care for my father-in-law. I also found it very comforting and at the same time odd that we actually made friends with other patients families in the CICU waiting area. Since visitation is limited much of the time while in this unit we spent a lot of time just waiting for our turn to have some time in the room with my father-in-law. During this waiting time other patients families would talk, share and discuss what they where doing in this area also. It’s comforting to know that others are going through the same thing, struggling with the same issues and can relate.

As you can imagine, dinners were pretty scarce this week as was everything else. However, I am blessed to have a pretty good setup of workout equipment right here at home so I was able to squeeze in what I could in between nap times with my little ones and get in a workout here and there. Here’s what I did accomplish for exercise this week:

Saturday: gym: 30 minute elliptical

Sunday: gym: 30 minute elliptical

Monday: 20 minute recumbent bike, weight lifting, stretching

Tuesday: rest

Wednesday: recumbent bike 30 minutes, weights and stability ball routine

Thursday: rest

Friday:rest

Not my greatest week of workouts but I still managed to get in a few sweat sessions and that is good enough for me. Toward the end of the week I started coming down with some sort of nasty virus and was feeling pretty rough. Which in turn made me decide to just call it a week and rest when I could.I am looking forward to life getting back on track in this next week.

 

Leave a Reply

