Is It Possible To Have Too Much Summer?

It it possible to have too much summer? In my opinion NEVERRRRRR!
Especially since I deal with seasonal affective disorder(SAD) every year.

As much as I want to ignore the facts, I have to admit, I think our summer has officially ended. Last week it got immensely cooler, leaves are falling everywhere, and I am feeling the need to make some changes to adjust to the season.

I have started adding soups back into our meal rotation. I love soup all year long but make it rarely if ever during the summer months. Now is when I find we spend more time indoors and my creativity in the kitchen runs wild.

IMG_4028

Another big change I typically make during this time of year is by adding flannel sheets and an extra blanket to our bed. Is there anything worse than crawling into a cold bed at the end of a log day? No there is not! Although, this year we finally decided to make a purchase we have debated for awhile. We bought a down comforter for our bed and let me be the first to say……I LOVE IT so far. It’s so warm, yet light weight, and most importantly, not too hot for my husband to sleep comfortably also. My hope is that maybe we can get by this winter without the need for flannel sheets. Time will tell.

Talking about heat and warmth…..I sort of have this obsession every year to make it to the same date on the calendar that I do every other year before feeling the need to turn our furnace on. I know, odd, but it’s always a goal for some reason. Last year we caved finally on Oct. 21…..we’ll see this year how long we can last without heat. (HINT: Baking in the morning always helps reach this goal)

As the darkness creeps in earlier every night I have been finding myself actually going to bed super earlier than normal. I am not a night owl as it is but 7:30 p.m. is somewhat too early. After dinner we typically get in some sort of exercise and then it’s pretty much bed time for me. I battle this all winter and something I have found that passes time quickly and keeps my mind from dreading the season so much is jigsaw puzzles. There has been talk of digging them out and getting one started, but so far I have held back from taking this step. I just don’t know for how long I can continue to avoid it.

IMG_3459

Last year I was advised by my doctor to try Vitamin D for my SAD symptoms. I finally did and have to admit, I did notice that taking it did lighten the depressed mood I feel for months. I plan to start this in the next week or so, to get a good start on it before we change our clocks and it’s practically dark before I am even done working. This is when my seasonal depression really affects me the most.

And last but not least, I bought my first Christmas gift a few days ago. I am not a last minute shopper simply because I can’t tolerate the crowds. I am a list maker and I stick to it. I write down who we all need gifts for, make a budget, and write an idea for each person on this list. This makes Christmas shopping so easy. There is no wandering around aimlessly with no idea what I am looking for. It’s in,out, and done!

Do you struggle with winter?

What have you found to help you get through it?

How does your lifestyle change during the winter months?

 

 

Leave a Reply

