Loving Lately….

Another week has come and gone and we’re off to enjoy the weekend. With that in mind here are a few things I have been loving lately whether it be a weekday or a weekend…

Flowers are in full bloom everywhere: Nothing says summer more than flowers in full bloom everywhere you look.IMG_1763

Triscuit Thin Crisps Wasabi Soy Crackers: YUMMMMY. I am not a big chip eater but lately when we do splurge on a bag of chips we have not been able to find our favorite flavored wasabi soy chips anywhere. I think because the new line of this years flavors are coming out, they have stopped selling them…anyhow I was bummed until now. I recently saw these crackers and bought a box. Surprisingly, they are exactly like the chips just not quite as bad for us. Give them a try.

IMG_1757

Clean Public Park/Trail Bathrooms: Being female has it’s ups and downs. One of the biggest downs is that we are not as lucky as males who can basically relieve themselves anywhere on a trail. Yes, I know, females could too but it’s a lot more work. So when you are lucky enough to come across a clean park/trailhead bathroom it is quite nice to say the least. Some make you gag and just hold it until the next opportunity comes, some are so disgusting that I would rather pee in a parking lot(which I have before). And occasionally you have ones that when you open the door oh so very slowly bracing for the stench and aroma that most have, you are pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness. This was my experience recently when we went hiking at a nearby trail. I opened the door and couldn’t believe my eyes. It was clean, did not smell at all, and I think I could have even considered sitting on this throne if needed (although, I have never sat on a public throne in all of my adult life, why would I start now). Hurray for whom ever cleans this trailhead bathroom in the town of Maplewood, WI…..GOOD JOB!

IMG_1778

Whole Fruit Sorbet and Greek Frozen Yogurt: I recently found these in the frozen foods section or our local grocery store. I was pleasantly surprised to find them very tasty and refreshing. At a 100 calories each, not a bad treat.

IMG_1849Tazo Chai Latte: I don’t usually try samples when I walk around Costco, first I normally don’t have time to wait in line much less the patience. Although, recently this was being sampled and there was no line so why not. It took me about two seconds to try, taste, and purchase this chai tea. They had it mixed with milk at the store which was great. However, when I made it I mixed it with almond milk which was just as yummy. Add some ice and you have a wonderful, summertime, pick me up drink:)

IMG_1860

Still Finding Time With Mom: I love that my son don’t mind walking with his mom. We don’t get a whole lot of time together anymore with work, school, and more work but when there is time he don’t mind spending a little bit of it with his old mom. They say your kids love you, then hate you, then eventually come to be thankful for all you did for them later in life. I am not sure what stage we are in at this point in time, maybe a little of all of them, although when we are together its fun. Which means my plan is to take it for what it is at the moment and run with it…

(picture courtesy of our son)momhikinglow-1

Anything you want to share that you are loving lately?

Leave a Reply

