Working Out Is Cheaper Than Therapy

Oh, this is such a true statement for me. Lately, this is all that keeps me sane. I can have the worse day ever but if I can find it in me to drag myself downstairs or to the gym I know I will feel better after I achieve a good workout.

What makes me even more happy is that my family and friends are well aware of my love of exercise. Recently, a friend of mine stopped over for a visit and brought along a flyer from the city I live in with a new program they are trying. I have lived in Wisconsin my entire life and honestly the last 10 years or so, I have dreamed of moving somewhere much more active. You can only imagine my excitement when I saw that the city is hosting FREE classes at area parks for residents to participate in for a few weeks or to try once and never return.

This all got me to thinking, why are we the way we are….

Have you wanted to become active but can’t afford a gym membership, a class fee, or maybe the gear to try a new sport/activity?

Would you participate in a program like this if your hometown offered a free trial session of a new activity?

Would you rather try something alone or would you never go alone?

Is there a reason you want to become more active but just won’t take that first step?

What would motivate you to take that leap of faith and try something new and active?

I can assure you everyone has had or still has these same questions and thoughts going through their head when they are considering trying something new. However, those that do step out of their comfort zone typically never regret it. Whether they succeed or fail at whatever it is that they try, they have accomplished getting past the fear of “what if” and can say, they tried it!

Working out for me is truly my therapy of choice. It makes me happy, keeps me healthy, makes me feel good, and gives me the energy to make it through some hard days. That is not to say that I don’t struggle to get in a workout everyday. Some days it is a chore, sometimes even a hassle but I NEVER REGRET IT!!!!!

I want to encourage you all to get up and stop dreaming about becoming healthier. Make this dream a reality. Whether you are big or small, young or old, you will never accomplish happiness unless you get up and take that first step. Don’t worry about what other people around you are doing or saying. No one really cares what you look like or how well you are doing something. It’s the fact that you are out there doing it and trying your best at it.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

