I Vowed….In Sickness and In Health

It has been a whirlwind week here at our house and I am preparing myself for it to continue for a while longer.

About a week ago my husband woke me in the early morning hours in severe pain. Without going into great detail, we ended up with the day off and me accompanying him to a few doctors offices throughout that day. By the end of the day he had a diagnosis, treatment plan, and some medications for his pain.

IMG_1342

Which brings us to today. Thankfully he is finding relief with the treatment and medication. Although, since this all came about he has noticed an issue that may last a lifetime and could be debilitating for his future. Which leaves me, as his wife, wanting to do anything possible to find a way for him to live happily doing what he loves to do and for us to be able to do it together. Again, at this stage of the ailment we are still hoping it resolves itself after the initial injury is healed but we just won’t know until it happens, if it happens.

For now, I’ll be honest, I am finding it hard to keep up with life. He is on weight restriction, which leaves almost everything to me with help from our son when he is around. I have found myself stress eating, which I hate to do so much. I have found myself back at the gym a few times already just to get in a good sweat and relieve some stress. I have talked with so many medical professionals in the last week that I often wonder if I could not be a doctor myself. Training for our upcoming trip has totally fallen off the agenda of things to do. However, we have been walking, which is something he was told to do to aid in his recovery along with foam rolling, water exercise, and stretching.

Our summer plans have been adjusted as much as possible. My son and I have already talked about how we will adapt our hiking vacation to make it easier on my husband if there is no improvement before then. And we have a few more doctor visits coming up and a few more tests scheduled that will hopefully give us answers we don’t have right now.

Until all this is resolved I plan to continue blogging but posts could be more sporadic at best. You will not see any kayaking adventures since that is on his “don’t do it list”. Although, we have and will be spending more time on the water with my SUP board. We have already bought him a new water toy(a big floating noodle) so he is able to enjoy the water with us and aid in his recovery all at the same time. He is not completely thrilled with the idea of no kayaking/SUP but in time I believe he will be back to paddling again.

For now I leave you all with one thought…..be thankful for good health!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

