DePere River Walk/Locktender’s House Cafe

Working from home is often quite the challenge for me. I wake up at home, work all day at home, switch over to mom/wife mode in the evenings at home, and then go to sleep at home. Our friends and family wonder why we are never home on the weekends and I wonder why would they ask something so self explanatory. I am ALWAYS home!

Sometimes during the week when I have just had enough of my home and need a little escape I will make my way to the DePere Riverwalk. It’s close to our home, is attached to the Fox River Trail, and offers a little hiatus from my life at home.

IMG_1295

Recently we did this one night after work and I was happily refreshed after only a short walk and a little treat.

We made our way across the bridge.

IMG_1296

We noticed that the locks were closed which meant they had a boat or two inside. I always find the lock tenders fascinating. I would love a job where you are working out, standing outside, and enjoying the summer sunshine every hour of your day.

IMG_1299

Surprisingly, when the lock gates opened up we were shocked to see two kayakers exit. Apparently, I am way to frugal to pay per vessel to take kayaks through the lock system. There is a portage just feet from the locks entrance and a put in just down the path a short distance. No way would I ever pay money to not have to carry my kayak such a short distance.

IMG_1301

After this we headed down to the the path toward the pier near the dam. I have never seen pelicans do the fish dance before this day and I found this quite amusing. They swim around in a circle dipping their heads at the same time herding fish together.

IMG_1307

IMG_1306

Until finally one get’s lucky and captures a fish for it’s dinner. That one then swims away and the others just continue on with this dance. Odd but so amusing to watch.

We eventually made our way to the end of the pier which is decorated with locks of families and couples all over the cables of the railings. Again, odd but unique.

IMG_1327

I knew with a little persuasion I could talk my husband into stopping at the Locktender’s House for an ice cream treat. It’s hard to resist when they have the best salted caramel shakes we have ever had. It also helps that is his favorite flavor:)

IMG_1328

This little cafe is open from 9am-9pm and is super cute. If your in the DePere, WI area I highly suggest taking the short walk and stopping for an ice cream treat. You won’t be sorry you did.(NOTE: that is not my husband in that picture…just some older guy trying to figure out his phone….haha!)

After our ice cream we headed back and I was ready to return home. As short as it was, it was all I needed to recharge and return back home for another few days. Sometimes my weeks just drag on and this is a perfect spot to escape for just a little while.

Leave a Reply

