What I Am Loving Lately

It’s Friday again and I have a few things to share with you that I have been really enjoying.

Nature Box: First, let me tell you about a monthly snack delivery we have been receiving from Nature Box. We pick out five different bags of snacks each month on their website and they are sent to our home address. The guacamole bites are spectacular…I ate the entire bag myself. Shhhh, don’t tell. (I am the lucky mail retriever so I only show my boys some of the treats we receive:) Anyhow, they make great additions to a quick grab and go snack bag for last minute outings.  Plus, they have a huge assortment of treats to choose from, so you really never get bored of the same old thing.

IMG_1144

Superfeet Insoles: I have come to love my new insoles. After talking with my doctor and hearing him suggest a high profile insole I bit the bullet and spent the money for some Superfeet.

IMG_1145

IMG_1039

They get wonderful reviews from fellow hikers and seem to hold up to some of the roughest trails which is exactly what I was looking for. At first, I will admit, I had my doubts. They were so uncomfortable. Every step was painful and I cringed for about three days. However, each day seemed to get a little better and by the time I reached my first week with them I could not tell I even had them in my shoes. Now, I cannot even imagine walking without them. I no longer feel my ankle bones grinding together when I walk and my hips(for some strange reason) no longer hurt me at all. I even bought a second pair to rotate between my hiking boots and my water shoes since I was told never to walk without firm arch supports in my shoes.

Garage Sale: I recently had a garage sale and I am very happy the pile of junk accumulating in my basement is now gone. HURRAY!

IMG_1139

Panic Attacks: Call me a terrible mother but I was so thankful to hear my son tell us that he no longer can do hills on his long board. After last years accident where he spent the summer recovering from a head injury, a broken collar bone, and numerous road rashed areas, I was extremely thankful that his brain told him this is something that should not be attempted again. However, in case he would forget he does not have to look far to have a reminder that the blacktop is much harder than the human body! He actually had his collar bone x-ray enlarged, colored, and decorated his board with it.

IMG_1215

Water Balloons: Nothing says summer more than a good old water balloon fight between father and son. No matter how old they get, they really never seem to truly grow up. IMG_1228

Active Families: I am so proud to say that we are an active family. Even though we all have jobs, school, different friends, and many other responsibilities we still find time to do what we love as a family and that is being active together.

IMG_1095

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

