Standup Paddling the Chain of Lakes – Waupaca, WI

I finally had my chance to take my SUP out for it’s first paddle of the year. We watched the weather all week and Saturday was the day that was predicted to be beautiful, low 70’s and sunny. However, when the alarm went off I glanced outside and all I saw was clouds and more clouds. Life must go on and despite the dreary skies we packed up as planned and headed to a new destination, Waupaca, WI and the Chain of Lakes.

IMG_1266

We started to hit a fine mist of rain about half way there and prepared for a wet paddle. I was so determined to make the most of the day regardless of the weather that we just continued on toward our destination. I had been quite anxious all week to know if my ankle was strong enough yet to be back on my board and within 20 yards I knew it was healed enough to continue. I have been pretty diligent on stopping whatever it is that I try when I feel pain, as I was directed to do, until I have gained back all the strength in it. So I knew if I felt pain, this would have been a short trip but happily I felt nothing and we paddled onward.

We started at Knight Lake/Manomin Lake boat launch. They have a nice sized parking area, no bathrooms, but a great place to launch kayaks, canoes and SUP’s.

Launch parking areaIMG_1269

Our destination was Marl Lake, known for it’s crystal clear waters and floating public dock which many paddlers are known to bring and share a picnic lunch at. To reach Marl Lake you must launch where we did, paddle through a small opening into Pope Lake and then again through another small opening into Marl Lake. If you have any sort of rudder or fin on your vessels watch for logs in these openings. (We had no trouble at all maneuvering through on this day)

IMG_1268

Within minutes of reaching Marl Lake it started to sprinkle a little heavier. Which was ok, I had prepared for a possible wet ride anyhow not knowing if my balance would be what I wanted it to be after an entire winter. Although, not long after this sprinkle the rain really started coming down. My husband and I found a tree and sat under this for quite awhile waiting it out. Thankfully there was no lightening, just rain. After about 20 minutes it seemed to have let up a bit and we made our way as fast as possible to the other side of the lake to the floating public dock. We beached our vessels and again hid under the trees.

IMG_1272

By this time I was wet, very wet, cold and a little miffed. However, my husband being the positive person he is said at least we were together and safe. Which was right, but sometimes that glass he always keeps half full I would just love to dump over his head. He always finds a bright side to everything and it sometimes drives me crazy!

IMG_1274

Eventually the rain stopped and we did not take long to make our way back to the truck to warm up and dry out our clothes using the heat vents.

IMG_1285

While waiting for our clothes to dry we shared our picnic lunch in the truck shivering instead of on this nice dock.

IMG_1277

After lunch we did go back out for awhile. I paddled, he fished, and we just enjoyed the cloudy weather the best we could. Even though our day was not everything I had hoped for in the weather department, I am very glad to know that I am still able to enjoy my standup paddle board.
We have already researched a little more about the area and have our next few lakes in the Waupaca area picked out for our next trip. However, at this time we have no idea when this will happen. Summer is so short and there are just so many fun things to do that I can only hope we make it back here one more time before it’s over.

 

Leave a Reply

