A Quote From My Husband….

After this past weekend my husband stated this to me in these exact words,”I need to go back to work just to rest and recover.” Ahhhhh, a little tiny part of me felt bad for him but a really big part of me was thinking, what in the world is he going to do this coming weekend when we have three days to play outside?

It all started when I decided about 10 a.m. on Saturday morning that I was done with that boot! The sun was shining, it was hot, and I was determined to have some fun. However, I had another type of anchor(my husband) that stuck pretty close by the entire weekend to make sure I did not over do anything and reinjure that ankle.Quickly we did our chores around the house. He cut the lawn and I washed our car and my boot to be able to pack it away for next time.(Did I really just say there would be a next time? Gosh, I hope not!)

IMG_1037

With all our chores done, it was time to have some fun. We started with a two mile walk on a trail.

IMG_1001

It felt so good to have a shoe on again:)

IMG_1010

We saw so much wildlife and so many wild flowers. All the trees we walked past were in full bloom and the scent was amazing.

IMG_1017

IMG_1020

IMG_1018

IMG_1032

IMG_1004

After our walk, we headed home for some dinner and then I told him I was not quite done. It was still so beautiful outside that I wanted to savor every second. So he agreed to play a quick game of disc golf with me.

IMG_0976

We then returned home once again and he was done. Nothing I suggested he was willing to do or let me do alone for the matter. So the day was over. However, my mind was already working on Sunday plans.

Sunday brought a little sun and some clouds with the possibility of storms in the afternoon. So we put it in high gear, we needed to get in some fun and exercise before the rain. We wasted no time. He loaded up our boat and I packed the cooler and we headed to the water.

IMG_1053

We returned from fishing/boating to originally take a hike along the Bay of Green Bay. However, after checking the forecast we decided it would be better just to walk in the neighborhood. We left with the mind set that I would try and make the three mile route we normally walk. I amazed myself by actually completing it without any pain in my ankle at all. This was a great sign for me. This is the same walk that use to put me in pain for hours afterwards due to my ankle injury. I was pretty happy to be pain free.

Upon our return home the rain started and continued for awhile. Which also meant our day was cut a little shorter than planned but we still had fun. I missed my jammed packed weekends of adventure and I am so happy to have them back.

This week will be a week full of walking with my kiddos during the day and working on making my ankle stronger with my therapy exercises and workouts. My hope is that I can possibly attempt my standup paddle board this up coming long weekend. Although, regardless of whether this happens or not, we have enough other events planned that I will not be disappointed either way. Let’s just hope that my husbands employer does not have a lot on his to do list come Tuesday……he will be ready to rest and recover for sure after I am done with him for three days!

Do you prefer relaxing weekends or busy fun weekends?

 

 

Leave a Reply

