Weekend Goals and The May Health Challenge

The weekend is here and I am EXCITED! I visited the doctor yesterday and didn’t exactly get the news I was hoping for but I still got good news.

IMG_0844

I will still be in the boot another two weeks. However, two hours during my work day and from the time I am done working until bedtime I can take it off. However, if we do any form of activity besides normal walking around the house, then it has to go back on. I did get the ok to do anything I wish with the boot on…hello trail here I come. Which means I made some weekend goals and hope to accomplish most of them. Take a look:

#1 To not over do activity with that ankle. I need to strengthen it back up. As much as I would love to hike 10 miles, that is not likely going to happen. I do plan to hike a little this weekend since our plans have been on the calendar for quite some time now, but all in good reason.

#2 I really need to even out my tan. One leg is white and the other is not. Since I can have the boot off for a while each day, this will be my time to marinate in the sunshine.

#3 Try out my new insoles when I have the boot off. I’ve been told this could be painful, but I am not too worried. I have been in pain for months, how much worse could it be?

#4 Enjoy my first campfire meal of the season. (Fire danger here is very high, this one is iffy)

#5 Spend some family time together. My son was offered a job last week which has him working in his field of photography almost every single weekend photographing weddings. This could be one of our last weekends together as a family doing what we love so I need to savor every second.

IMG_0111

#6 Last but not least, work on losing the three pounds I have gained from sitting around unable to exercise for the last month. The night I came home from my appointment we actually took our first walk in a month.(with the boot still on) It was great!

I’ll let you all know next week how many of these goals I actually accomplish.

Now, onto May’s Health Challenge. I don’t know where last month went but it’s gone and that means we are ready for a new monthly health challenge.

May’s Health Challenge Is: Meatless Monday’s

That’s right, no meat on Monday’s! You can easily replace your protein with another form of food one day per week without a whole lot of effort. Here are some options to choose from:

beans and lentils

cottage cheese

eggs

tofu/tempeh

greek yogurt

avocados

peanut butter

quinoa

nuts and seeds

I am sure there are many, many more out there besides just these.  If you don’t think you can survive an entire day without meat just start out with dinner on Monday’s. Work your way up to an entire day by the end of the month. You can set your own goals and achieve them.

These challenges are meant to be fun and rewarding to us all when we work to achieve something we normally would not do on our own. I don’t want these to turn into something that we all dread and find impossible.

Let me know of any good ideas or recipes you come up with that are meatless. I would be happy to give them a try here with my family as well.

Good Luck!

 

 

Leave a Reply

