Trail Journals Give Me Hope

I have had a lot of time on my hands lately spending it sitting on my rear end resting this ankle. While doing this I have started reading trail journals from long distance hikers doing mostly the Pacific Crest Trail or the Appalachian Trail. Since this is a dream of mine I thought it would be interesting to see what they all experience while on this journey of a lifetime. After reading many journals I am happy to say, I still have hope to fulfill this dream.

As you know, hiking brings me great pleasure and mountains bring me pure happiness. I have no idea where my love of elevation came from but the higher the elevation the happier I am.

IMG_3117

When my doctor called with a torn tendon diagnosis in my ankle I felt my dreams come crashing down that mountain. Although, I find that many, many hikers have the same aches and pains as I have been experiencing and they are still out there doing what they love. So many have talked about getting cortisone injections before leaving for their journeys, eating pain killers like they are skittles, or even just simply pushing through the pain to reach their destinations. Which is why I feel there is still hope for me. So far I have not resorted to anything more than Vitamin I (Ibuprofen) and an ankle brace.

For now, I am trying to keep my head held high, pray this first treatment plan works, continue doing the therapy that was suggested for my healthy ankle, and try my best not to step on the scale and see how sitting around for this month has effected my body. I can only imagine what my first workout will be like when I am back to being able to exercise again.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

