Coming Up With A Plan With My Bum Ankle

I almost have the first week finished with this knee high immobilization boot and I have to say, I find myself only slightly irritated so far. Thankfully, I am allowed to work so while caring for all the children I am pretty occupied and don’t notice too much hassle. The worst time I would have to say is during the night. I am suppose to sleep with this horrendous contraption on but that is pretty much impossible. What I have been doing is sleeping with an air cast on to continue the support and not allow me to move it the direction that gives me so much pain. So far this seems to be working just fine. I have not been woken up with pain since starting this whole treatment plan, let’s hope that is a good sign.

That being said, this will be the first weekend I am laid up and not suppose to do more than absolutely necessary. This will be a challenge. Weather looks to be very nice and that is not a good thing. I am slowly starting to feel normal again from whatever kind of viral hell entered my body for the past week and I am ready to do something other than lay around feeling miserable. I know my husband and son are dying to hit the water with there new kayaks which I will not be joining in on. Ultimately, I would be happy to just sit outside without a jacket on.

Let’s move on to what I have figured out to do for exercise for the next few weeks. This is huge for me. Telling me to take it easy and relax is like telling me to stop breathing. I just can’t do it and if I do I can’t do it for long. Monday I plan to start with a series of mat workouts on the floor. I am not allowed to do any weight bearing exercises (besides lifting my two 12-15 lb infants I care for) standing on that ankle but laying/sitting down I can do weights. Thankfully I have a weight machine at home so this will be a normal part of my daily workout also. I also plan to do yoga. Obviously, no moves standing or stretching out that foot/leg but the rest of me could use a good stretch. For now, hopefully it’s enough to keep my insanity in check. If you have any other suggestions, please send them my way.

That’s it for now. If we hit a local river I will be sure to take a few pictures from my perch where I sit and watch. You all have a great weekend.

 

5 thoughts on “Coming Up With A Plan With My Bum Ankle

  1. Good luck! I know how hard it is to taste an injury when you’d rather be out moving in the fresh air. Can you take the yoga mat and some very light hand weights outside?

Leave a Reply

