A Little Of Everything: MRI, Disc Golf, Sale,Workouts, Birthdays….

Hi, how was your weekend?

Mine was a bit crazy. Not overwhelming just crazy.

First let me update you on where I am with that ankle of mine that has been giving me pain since last August. After seeing a doctor last week I am now awaiting an appointment for a MRI of this ankle. Doc seems to think that I may have a piece of bone/cartilage floating around causing me such agony. As for repairing this problem if he is correct, well, that is to be discussed in more detail at that time. I suppose it all depends on recovery time for me. I have big plans coming up and I need to be able to rely on that ankle. Which right now I can although, I suffer the consequences later on. So in other words this topic is “to be continued” after I get some definite results.

Now back to the weekend. My son and I found time to clean his room and rearrange the furniture. During this cleaning frenzy he came up with even more junk that is being contributed to a garage sale we are hoping to have this summer, which made me very happy. I am not a pack rat which means it’s not hard at all for me to throw things in the sale pile. My son is not too bad with this either but my husband is the worst. He thinks at some time in his lifetime he may be able to use this or that and it drives me insane.

Saturday we actually had plans to do a few chores and then take a trip to the gym for a workout. We have not been to the gym in over two weeks. Instead we have been walking outside every night since the weather has been tolerable. It was suppose to be cold and miserable the entire weekend which turned out to be very wrong. By mid afternoon the sun was high in the sky and we just could not see spending a nice sunny day in a sweaty gym so we contacted our neighbor and all went disc golfing. The four of us dodged a few mud puddles( water hazards) and really had a good time. None of us were all that rusty which is always a nice surprise after a long winter.
IMG_2614

After disc golf the sun was still high in the sky and we just could not see wasting a single moment of it, so we dropped off our son and neighbor at home and continued on to the Mountain Bay Trail for a two mile walk together.

IMG_3450

Sunday brought us clouds, rain, and windy conditions. Although, that was ok, it gave us no reason what so ever not to make it to the gym on that day. So we woke up and my husband made us french toast,cinnamon apples, and coffee. After breakfast we were off the the gym for a wonderful workout together. It felt so good to be back, but surprisingly I felt no guilt about not being there for awhile. I knew I had not been just sitting back being lazy. I have still been working out daily, walking and/or hiking on weekends. It was just a nice change of pace. We hope to possibly start walking to the gym from our home, doing our weight lifting routine and then walking back. This way we each get a little of what we love to do without sacrificing one thing for another.

Sunday also was my husbands birthday. We celebrated with a nice lunch out as a family and then it was one of those days where cuddling on the couch just seemed appropriate since it was dreary, cold, and rainy outside. It was a great way to end a very nice weekend.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

