Will I Cause It To Snow Again If…..

Oh my, what a gorgeous weekend for mid March in Wisconsin. I am using every once of self control I have not to hang laundry on the lines out back, bring out the patio furniture, and wash my winter jacket so it’s ready to be stored until next winter. I am so afraid I could jinx myself and cause it to snow again if I do all these summery things. Although, my husband has already put away all his ice fishing supplies and the shovels have traded places with the rakes in our shed.  So in all likely hood, it’s already too late. We have done too much already to not have jinxed ourselves and at this point we can only hope this gorgeous weather sticks around.

This weekend was somewhat odd. My husband actually ended up working both Saturday and Sunday which is very unusual for his schedule. Some big job needed to be done and at least it’s better now than in July when it’s really summer. So I was somewhat on my own all weekend for fun and excitement. Which you would think I would actually take full advantage of but I didn’t. I am a list maker to the extreme and I recently made our Spring cleaning/chore list that needs to be all done before we “play” every year. So since he was working, I figured I may as well get some things done also. I accomplished getting all the rugs washed, cleaned the garage, picked up some leftover leaves from Fall, ran a few errands, mopped the floors, washed all the comforters and throw blankets, and washed and ironed all the curtains throughout the house. By Saturday night I was exhausted but very happy to cross many things off the list.

Which brought Sunday as a day to do something fun. So I grabbed my backpack and hiking boots and headed to a nearby trail alone. It was so peaceful. I saw a few joggers, many people walking their dogs, and an elderly couple walking together. It is so great to see others enjoying the wonderful weather we are having. After the first mile I was pretty much alone on the trail with the occasional chickadee landing nearby. It was so great to feel alive and be outdoors again after so many months of winter.

Many of you have asked me to start letting you know the locations, mileage and so on about where we do our hiking. So here is that information:

I parked at the Mountain Bay trail head parking lot on  Lakeview Rd (Also know as CTY. J) and walked just past Rockwell Road until I came to snow/ice/water covering the trail.

IMG_0626

My entire walk was just over 3.5 miles round trip. This trail is completely flat with a crushed gravel covering. Beware of dog droppings everywhere along the edge of the trail. Apparently dog owners don’t feel like they need to follow two of these rules which are located at the beginning of the trail head.

IMG_0629

All in all ,it was a great walk. Not my favorite trail as I prefer something besides a flat surface, but it was closeby and I knew for the most part it would be snow and ice free.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

