No Time For Breakfast……Your Wrong!

You have all heard that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. I bet you have also all heard that many people don’t eat breakfast because they claim they do not have time. That “no time” excuse is used for anything and everything wouldn’t you say. No one seems to have time for exercise, mammograms, physicals, to walk their dog, to play with their kids, to just about anything these days. It’s funny we all use that excuse because if you have time to read this post right now you could be preparing something for breakfast to enjoy:) I’m just saying….anyhow, let’s talk about how we can all make time for breakfast.

First, it all starts with a plan. Whether you are single, have children, spouses, significant others, or friends that you live with will depend on the amount you plan for each week. I will use my family as an example along with the children I offer daycare to during the week. So that means I feed two adults and three children (my son fends for himself) every morning. You will need about 30-45 minutes to set aside on the weekend or your day off to carry out this plan. (I use Sunday’s typically)

Sunday mornings I get up and while having coffee and breakfast of my own, I put on a dozen eggs to boil. By the time breakfast is done so are the eggs and are ready to be cooled before I peel them. While waiting for them to cool, I start an assembly line of other things that I prepare weekly. Overnight oats (many varieties are on the recipe page), granola parfaits with greek yogurt, smoothie ingredients so they are ready to blend in a hurry, and fruit to grab and go.

IMG_0327About once a month we also prepare whole wheat pancakes for everyone and freeze them in Ziplok bags. They are so easy to grab, pop in the toaster, and eat in a hurry with no mess to clean up during the week. Yes, I could purchase frozen pancakes but my family and kiddos love pancakes. When we premake pancakes we typically make 75-100 per month. Although, you could buy yours and they would offer the same fast, hot breakfast for you.

My breakfast arrangement really works for us. I know at 4:30 a.m. the last thing I want to do is think about making breakfast. And at 6 a.m. when my kiddos show up hungry, they are not always willing to wait for something to eat. I can grab two eggs, can of V-8 and a banana and my husband is fed and out the door. My kiddos can have pancakes and fruit or a granola parfait in seconds and still have smiles on their faces. A weeks worth of premade breakfast items for my crew is normally, 3 jars of overnight oats, 2 mini granola parfaits, 3 regular granola parfaits, dozen hard boiled eggs, two fresh pineapples, 6-8 bananas, 25 premade pancakes, and peanut butter for toast/english muffins/ bagels. This is 30-45 minutes of a weeks worth of breakfast…tadaaaaa!

I can imagine that many of you are starting to think about starting a weight loss plan with the new year right around the corner. Breakfast should be an important part of this plan also. Eating breakfast will give you the energy to sustain any new exercise you plan to do, it will keep you nourished helping you not overeat when you eat your next meal, and will simply just make your mornings so much smoother and productive. That being said, this is your time to experiment, make a new routine and get ready to feed your body a healthy breakfast. Then, come the new year, when you start your weight loss journey you will already know what you like and what works best for you at breakfast time.

We all seem to have appointments, meetings, and something going on all the time. Adding this to your weekly plan and getting a good breakfast every morning can really improve the productivity in your daily life.

Do you eat breakfast?

If so, what works best for you in a hurry?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “No Time For Breakfast……Your Wrong!

  1. Great breakfast ideas and you’re right…so important! I try to live by the adage that if something is important to you, you will find the time; otherwise, you will find an excuse!

Leave a Reply

