SAD-Seasonal Affective Disorder

It’s that time of year again…..and I am already feeling it and we are only three days in. Changing the clocks around our home on Sunday made me want to sit and cry like my toddlers do when they don’t get what they want. I want it to stay light outside longer. I want it to stay warm enough where we can go outside and play. I want it never to snow. I want to feel alive and not like my life is on hold until Spring!!! Needless to say, we can’t have everything we want. I should know this, I repeat this to my toddlers every single day, sometimes multiple times a day.

SAD (seasonal affective disorder) effects many people in many ways. Some more extreme than others but all the same. It is not fun to feel this way for months at a time. You all know I am a true summer lover. The hotter it is the happier I am. Winter is torture for me to endure and I start dreading it as early as September, which I know is sad! (No pun intended) I have talked with my doctor many times regarding this issue and she has suggested many things to try. Me, however, being the stubborn redhead that I am, have refused up until last year.

Last year I finally broke down and bought a light that is suppose to mimic sunshine. Ironically, they call these Happy Lights which I find humorous. I have doubted forever that sitting next to a light will make me happy but after last years wicked winter I was ready to try almost anything. Unfortunately, I did not feel happiness radiating off this light. Although, I am not a great sitter and did not sit next to this thing for long periods of time like directed. So my results were more than likely not accurate.

I already know that I get instant happiness from aerobic activity, which means on the weekends you may find me at the gym two hours in the morning and also two hours in the late afternoon. I am also well aware that this is crazy, my husband and son already tell me that. In my defense, the gym makes me happy, I can actually be warm without three layers of clothes on and I get to wear shorts in the middle of winter while at the gym. For me this is happiness:-)

Which brings me to this current moment. I have been instructed by many friends, family, and physicians to try Vitamin D. I realize it’s technically not a medication but I am a firm believer in not popping a pill to fix every problem. However, the only other way I know to fix this problem is to move and that is not an option yet….so I am seriously thinking about trying Vitamin D.

Here’s where you all come in. I need your opinions, suggestions, input. Good, bad or otherwise, give it to me.

What would you do?

What do you do if you also suffer from this?

 

 

Leave a Reply

