It’s Time To Face Reality

It’s time to face reality, last weekend was a gift because I believe I have seen the last of 80 degree temps until at least next summer. For all the friends and family I have reading, YES I have finally caved to the chill and turned on our heat!!!! Depressing, I know, but I had to do it. I don’t know why I keep track from year to year, but this year it is 17 days earlier than last year. Ughhhh, let’s move on.

With another page of the calendar flipped, October arrives with some exciting things for our family. I am quite excited for the art festival this weekend I am attending with a friend of mine. We were a group of three until the third hurt her back and had to cancel. However, we still plan to have fun. The weather forecast for this outdoor festival is not very promising and I will be wearing my long underwear for sure but I am not letting that get me down. We are going to have fun and if we get too chilled we will just buy more wine:-) No worries, our means of transportation is coach bus and both our husbands are pitching in to drop and pick us up from the bus stop so we can consume as much wine as needed to keep warm and toasty:-)

Our family plan for this Sunday is to get some things crossed of the fall “to do” list. Not very exciting but it needs to be done. We already have a good start on the leaf cleanup, summer planters all have been emptied and kayaks all are stored in there proper places for the winter. (My boys still think they are going to go one more time…. we’ll see) We still have tons on the list however, which leaves Sunday as our fall cleanup day.

I started researching winter candlelight snowshoe/hikes around our area for something to do in the winter months. I do this every year and sometimes we make it happen and sometimes we don’t. Honestly, I have great intentions when I find an event that we can actually attend. I even write it on the calendar and plan around it, then the date arrives and it could go either way. If it’s freezing and miserable outside, I’d rather just stay home but if it’s nice and not too cold, we may actually go. Winter events are so hard for me but at least I make an effort to research and attempt to do outdoor things.

Next week will be very odd around our house. My husband will be in a class that is offered right near our home instead of traveling 45 minutes to work every morning. Plus class does not start until much later than we are used to getting up. This may sound great to most people but for me this could cause a week of many tears and thrown off schedules for all my little ones I care for. They all wait for the moment he arrives home everyday and next week he will still be here every morning when they arrive. Which means he will have to say goodbye to them every morning to attend this class. I can already see it now, everyday I will have three very sad kids around 8am when it’s time to say goodbye. I will enjoy the extra 1/2 hour of sleep we can have every morning but would trade it for the melt down I will have to deal with every morning when he leaves. Thankfully it’s only a week;-)

Just in case you are one of those people that can’t wait for Christmas and count the days until it arrives, I came across this cute website that you may find interesting. The three year old I care for had fun with the snow falling when we figured out if you move the mouse the flakes fall that same direction. Check it out here at the Christmas Countdown Clock.

That’s all I have for you today. Enjoy your weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

