Get Up and Move Challenge Update- June

Hey everyone how’s it going? Are you still moving? Did you decide to participate in the get up and move challenge?

We are so in summer mode here at our house that 30 minutes of active movement is never an issue. Even though my gym time has been cut way back from what I do in the winter months, I know I am burning more calories now. My days are packed with outside play with all my daycare children and my nights are packed with anything and everything you can think of. I really try and make it to the gym at least twice a week and the remaining nights we walk, play disc golf, or hike.

Our weekends are spent mainly paddling either our kayaks or my SUP. Two totally different animals but both are great workouts. My SUP offers me a full body (especially a core) workout where kayaking for me is mostly upper body. Once in a great while I will squeeze in some time at the gym on a Sunday if the sun is not shining or the weather is unfavorable for anything else outside.

Regardless, I still have my home gym workout happening every single day Monday-Friday. I can’t go far during the day when the kids are napping so having a home gym is perfect, all I have to do is go downstairs and it’s right there.

As for my husband, he is also still going to the gym on a much more regular basis than I am. His job is much less physical than mine on most days. He works more with his brain than his body and gets done much earlier than I do. So sometimes he will stop on his way home, workout and still make it home for dinner and then go for a walk or hike with me at night.

Ultimately, we are moving, moving, moving right along.

Tell me what you are finding for active fun in these wonderful summer months.

Have you tried anything new?

 

2 thoughts on “Get Up and Move Challenge Update- June

Leave a Reply

