Balancing Your Life Between Work and Play-Part #1

Do you think it’s possible to have a balance life between work and play? Despite the fact that in my profession everyday involves some sort of play, it is not the play I personally prefer to do. Let’s face it, with a 2 1/2 year old, 14 month old, and a 10 month old that I care for everyday we cannot go hiking, kayaking or play tennis. Which got me to thinking about doing these two fun posts.

In the next two posts (today and Friday ) I will show you what a weekday in my life looks like and what a weekend day looks like. When I decided to record everything I did (especially on the weekday) it was much more difficult than I expected. I really do a lot in a very short amount of time. A thirty minute span of time for me during the week is like an eternity, literally.

So here we go, I recorded almost everything I did and I would consider this a good day for me during the week. We had no tantrums, diaper blow outs, rough naps times, vomit incidents and no potty accidents. Yes everyone, this for me is a GOOD day 🙂

My day starts at 4 a.m. every day and looks like this:

4:00 alarm goes off

4:15 I get up

4:20 I prepare my husbands breakfast and pack his lunch

4:30 I do100 crunches and weighted arm exercises

4:45 kiss hubby goodbye and make my breakfast

5:10 start the laundry ( I do two loads every single day)

5:15 get dressed, brush teeth, etc.

5:25 check email and answer if needed

5:30 depending on the day I rotate chores : Monday is mop floors, Tues is clean bathroom, Thursday is dust

5:45 switch laundry loads and either dry or hang on the lines outside, take out the garbage, preprep daycare breakfast

6:10 child #1 arrives and gets fed breakfast

6:30 child #2 arrives and gets fed her breakfast

7:15 child #3 arrives and gets fed breakfast

During breakfast I can normally get some laundry folded

7:45 diaper change time/potty time

8:00 child #1 and #3 nap time

8-8:30 child #2 watches a cartoon

8-8:30 I clean up breakfast and prepare my lunch (yes my lunch is at 8:30 a.m., crazy right?)

8:30 eat my lunch and share with child #2

8:45 we prepare for nap time to be over and get out shoes and diapers

8:55 nap time is over and kids wake up, get changed, shoes get put on and we head out for a walk

9-9:45 we walk (could be to the park, around the neighborhood, to area garage sales or through a nearby wooded area)

9:50 we play outside

10:00 bottle time for child #1

10:20 child #3 needed a diaper change

10:30 move indoors to play so I can start to prepare lunch with help from child #2

11:00 lunch time for kids

11:30 diaper/potty time

11:45 story time and cuddle time all together

12:00 nap time for all three kids

12:05 clean up lunch dishes, kitchen, fold remaining laundry and check emails

12:30 my workout time downstairs in our home gym

1:30 snack time for me, prepare snack for the kids, preprep any dinner items I can to save time later.

2:00 kids wake up, we cuddle, have snack, do diapers and potty time and get all shoes on.

2:45 we head outside to play

2:50 diaper time for child #3 again

3:00 husband gets home (my job gets easier here, child #2 becomes his pal for the remainder of the day)

3:15 diaper time for child #1 again

4:00 child #1 pick up time

4:30 child # 2 and 3 pick up time

4:40 start to prepare dinner, premake husbands next days lunch, check emails, vacuum(everyday chore)

5:10/5:15 eat dinner

5:30 clean up dinner

5:45 change and head to the gym for our workout

6-7:30 workout

7:45 shower, dry my hair, check emails

8:00pm bed time 🙂

Wow, that even amazes me. Now occasionally I will skip my afternoon workout to cut the lawn while the kids nap. And this day is our summer routine. Winter routine involves activities and projects which we do not do much of in the summer. This also does not include any bathroom breaks for myself, although, I really never get to pee alone anyhow. I have found that kids thrive on routine and routine is what we do our best to keep.

Again, this is a good day in our house during the week. I look at my weekdays as controlled chaos. On Friday I will show you what a typical Saturday looks like and let you know my feelings on if my life is balanced enough in my opinion.

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Balancing Your Life Between Work and Play-Part #1

    • Thank you.
      I have been following your pregnancy and now your new arrival and believe me it gets easier. I manage three every day and normally fairly easily. Not all days will be wonderful but you take the good with the bad.

    • I often think having as much play time as work time would not make play time as rewarding as it is for some people. Maybe that explains why we work more days than we can play:)
      Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

