Weekend Highlights: Rhubarb Jam and Getting Reunited With My Standup Paddle Board

What a spectacular weekend we had. It all started Friday night. We had the great pleasure of being invited to clear out an entire patch of rhubarb from one of my daycare families yard. I was beyond thrilled with this offer from them. Immediately the wheels started turning in my head. The cookbooks were out and I started adding to my grocery list the ingredients needed to make jam and rhubarb bread.

IMG_4713

Thankfully, after cutting a ton of stalks, my husband offered to do all the cleaning and chopping so I could get the rest of the grocery shopping done Friday night. I returned home to find it all chopped and packaged in the frig waiting for me to prepare. Although, this would all have to wait until Sunday.

Saturday was our day of play which really turned into a day of pure relaxation. I finally got reunited with my standup paddle board after many, many months of it hanging on the wall. We loaded it up on our new Thule roof rack system we purchased back in March and headed to a new lake we were told to check out from a friend.

IMG_4720

Let me just say, I was in HEAVEN! The lake was calm, quiet, and not a weed in sight.

IMG_4715

Weeds are always a big fear of mine especially if I fall into a patch of them…ewwww! However, no one fell in this time. I paddled for quite a few hours. My husband fished from one of our recreational kayaks while I simply enjoyed the calm lake. At one point I decided to lay back on the board, take in some sun and actually dozed off awakening to find that I had drifted into the lily pads on the edge of the lake. Now that is relaxed, I guess I needed some down time. Thankfully, I fell asleep with my PFD still on :/

Sunday brought the day to put all that rhubarb to good use. I made rhubarb sauce for pancake topping or it’s also great on ice cream. I also made rhubarb bread, mini muffins, and jam.

IMG_4728

I still have about three gallons of chopped rhubarb to use up  but I ran out of time. After all that cooking it was time to get a gym workout in before the stormy weather hit Sunday night.

I could not have asked for a better weekend. I hope you all enjoyed your as much as I did.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Weekend Highlights: Rhubarb Jam and Getting Reunited With My Standup Paddle Board

  1. I can’t ever imagine being relaxed enough to fall asleep on a SUP board. A big, wide raft maybe:) Sounds like a heavenly weekend. I was on an airplane returning from a conference, but I have big beach plans for the weekends ahead!

    • I know, I even surprised myself by falling asleep on the SUP. If I would have rolled and fell in I would have been awaken VERY quickly. My husband would have had a good laugh on me then:)

      Beach plans sound wonderful. I wish we lived closer to a beach. Our nearest shoreline is Lake Michigan which is always freezing cold.

Leave a Reply

