Weekend Highlights: Devil’s Lake Spring Hike/Glamping (glamorous camping)

I often wonder if my husband is afraid to read his email at work when he see’s it’s from me. Although, when we first got married I was not a “pick up and go” kind of person. I would plan everything out weeks/months in advance. Well, those days are over.

So, after spending such a wonderful Mother’s Day weekend outside and enjoying it so much, I was sort of sad to see it end. Which got me to thinking last Monday morning, why don’t we go camping? It’s still too cold to kayak and water levels are still very high so that sport is completely out of the question. Our son was not scheduled to work and it’s not too hot yet so the bugs will be tolerable. So, I quickly sent a little email simply giving it a title of CAMPING?? to see my husbands thoughts on this plan. He answered quite quickly with a YES and the ball was now in my court.

Typically, when you plan to camp you would normally take a quick peak at the weather forecast. Although, I did and knew the highs for the weekend were looking pretty nice (60-65) I never thought to look at the lows. By Wednesday we had made a few adjustments to our plan to tent camp and ended up renting a basic cabin with heat near the park we planned to hike. Our son told me to man up, but when I mentioned to him that he would have to be the one to listen to me complain how cold it was…. he then agreed to the cabin arrangement pretty quickly.

IMG_4473

Friday night after work we left for our destination. We rented the cabin at Fox Hills RV park and Campground in Baraboo,WI. We wanted to get there Friday night so we could have the entire day to hike at Devil’s Lake State Park. We were the very first tenants in this brand new cabin. Very nicely built. Even my husband could not find a flaw anywhere in the design. Now that is a miracle!

We arrived, checked out the grounds, played a little chess,

IMG_4479

made smore’s, and went to sleep in our HEATED cabin.

We started our day of hiking early. I had a goal in mind to finally hike the entire loop around the lake. Every time we come here to hike we do one bluff or the other because we drive home the same night. So this was it. My day to cross something off my bucket list.

We started at one end,

IMG_4491

climbing to the top of this bluff,

IMG_4534

past Devil’s Doorway

DSC_0009

then around the entire lake to the other side and up the second bluff.

IMG_4524

IMG_4535

We even found Croc Rock along the way.

IMG_4511

We made it in just under 5 hours with a break for lunch on the trail included. Sweet success, a total loop!

IMG_4540

What a day! The sun was shining beautifully. I had the opportunity to try my new trekking poles. We did some geocaching.

DSC_0034

As always, the view from the top took my breath away.

IMG_4516

And again, I got to watch some rock climbers do their thing. Maybe someday I may try this….or maybe not.

IMG_4530

After all this, it was back to the campsite for pudgy pies and more smore’s. Yum!

We had so much fun as a family hiking this beautiful park that I hope you will all consider doing something like this with your family. It really does not get any better than this.

DSC_0024-1

Happy Trails Everyone 🙂

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Weekend Highlights: Devil’s Lake Spring Hike/Glamping (glamorous camping)

  1. Man, what a beautiful day you had! Thanks for sharing your pics 🙂 I used to live in Wisconsin (as a kid) and remember hiking at Devil’s Lake a few times. It really is beautiful there!

    • Irons that you put over the campfire that typically you sandwich two pieces of bread together with some type of filling…pizza, pie filling, pb&j and so on. There are many different filling you could come up with. Irons can usually be purchased and most camp/sporting goods stores.
      Thanks for stopping by…come again:)

    • Yes, it was nice at night, that’s for sure.

      I love how you need incentive to go camping….I NEVER thought I would EVER be a camper. However, now I would camp every weekend if possible just to get away from it all. The older I get the more I like to be surrounded by nature and peace and quiet rather than city life and civilization.

      Give it a try, you may just find you like it:)

    • Getting out and leaving this big world or technology behind for a bit is a great way to just reset our minds. I hope you find something outdoors you enjoy.

      Thanks for visiting….come again:)

Leave a Reply

