Hiking vs. Walking

I have to get this off my chest and apologize to anyone who does not want to hear me gripe. If that’s the case, STOP reading now!

As you all know we are an active family. We often ask others to join us in our outdoor activities. The individuals that are asked are people we see often, enjoy each others company and typically have a good time together. When we ask them to stop over and share dinner, watch a movie or just to chat, they are all in. When we suggest a walk they start getting somewhat nervous, although at times, have joined us. But ask them to step out of their comfort zones and take a hike with us and excuse after excuse start to pour out of them.

Why I ask? I need some insight on this…please help me understand what is so scary about the word “hike” compared to the word “walk”. It is literally the same activity!!!!

I have thought about this many times. What dictates the difference between the two? Mileage, shoe of choice, elevation(if any), surroundings, terrain, duration, etc.?

I am well aware that we live in Wisconsin, the home of brats, beer and cheese. This should get me some dandy comments butttt ….are people in Wisconsin that lazy?

We all wonder why our kids are getting larger with every generation that passes. We wonder why health care costs what it cost. I’ll tell you why.  It’s because as parents, we are not good role models if all we do is sit on our rumps! It’s because our bodies were designed to move, not sit still.

The weather is finally getting nice. After two weeks of trying to make plans for a fun activity with some friends that would take place somewhere other than a couch, I have just given up.

I’ve decided to toss out an offer and let active people come to us instead. So,if you happen to be in the Wisconsin area and are ACTIVE, let us know. Many of my followers are hikers and we would not hesitate to get together for a hike, paddle, walk, or anything else for that matter.

 

2 thoughts on “Hiking vs. Walking

  1. This one really hits home for me! I walk down to a county park every weekday, and I’m always surprised by the number of people who live closer to the park than I do, yet they drive there to go for a walk.

    I do prefer to walk alone though, since I’m so into nature photography. I take my sweet time wandering around. Most people hear hike, and they think that the objective is to finish the trail as quickly as possible. To me, it’s the time outside, not the distance covered or how quickly it was covered.

    • I couldn’t agree with you more. The time outdoors is the important part, not the distance covered.

      It’s just so sad and frustrating what society is becoming. They are just missing so much.

      Thanks for your insight, I am happy to see I am not the only person who feels like this.

Leave a Reply

