Happy Birthday to a Great Husband

When you have a house full of little kiddos, birthday celebrations are always quite exciting. Even when you are past the age of really wanting a celebration. Today we celebrated my husbands birthday with all the daycare kids around, which made for a crazy afternoon.

First, I should probably fill you all in on how daily life evolves around here. Everyday when my son or husband arrive home from school/work it is like a little party happens. Kids start racing for the door either crawling, walking or running and my boys are met with hugs, smiles and cheers. Every single day!!!I They are like dogs, always glad to see them.

So, on this particular Friday, as soon as nap time was over my little helper (the only child I have that is old enough to help at this point) was ready to prepare my husbands surprise. We had exactly 1 1/2 hours to cuddle for a few minutes, feed snack to the whole crew, give bottles to whom needed bottles, change diapers and fill the birthday bags with gifts and tissue paper.This was not an easy task, but we did it.

I was so proud of how this was accomplished. I had enough bags that I made letters for the words,”HAPPY BIRTHDAY” and we glued one on each bag. Then my little helper colored them for projects for the past few days. Next, I had purchased gifts that all started with the letter glued to each bag. (I did this alone) We then inserted the gifts I had purchased into the proper bags. Stuffed each one with a little tissue paper and laid them out to say happy birthday. Now, if I could just get my little helper not to tell him what was in each bag before he actually got to open them.

DSC_0446

I could never put into words how excited my little helper was for my husband to arrive home on this day. Secrets are very hard for a 2 1/2 year old to keep, but she did a wonderful job. Of course, he had no lack of help opening each and every bag. However, he was having just as much fun as she was. It ended up being another great birthday memory to cherish.

*****I have to give a big thank you to my husband. He has never once said he wished he could come home from work to peace and quiet instead of a house full of children that were not his own. For this I am thankful.

Leave a Reply

