Checking Things Off The List

I am a list maker. You can find lists in every pocket of every jacket I have. Maybe it’s age, but if it’s not written down, I will not remember it. And I must say, I actually feel like my list got a whole lot shorter this weekend.

It started with Saturday morning, after ordering my new glasses a week ago, I finally had time to go pick them up. Thankfully, my husband was with me because it took me most of the day to get used to my new prescription. Which meant he ended up being my chauffeur for the rest of my “to do” list.

Next, we made a trip to Costco. We had stopped in quickly one night during the week to fill out membership information but really did not have time to shop. This time we had time to wander and look around. I normally stick to my list pretty well but with my other half along that is sometimes quite hard to do. We found everything I needed and then some.

IMG_4036

I love that they have so many items that are organic, customer service was great (especially for a Saturday) and the produce section is spectacular. I bought the largest pineapple I have ever seen.

After we finished shopping it was time for some fun. The sun was shining and we had seen an area trail that looked clear enough to walk on when we were on the highway traveling earlier that morning. We headed to the trail head and needless to say did not make it far. We were only a few yards into the trail when we rounded a corner and found it flooded over with the river that is usually a trickle.

IMG_4042

With disappointment written all over my face, my husband said we could try another trail nearby. We did, and it was somewhat clear in sections, but this trail being right next to the river was extremely cold and windy. I was shivering so hard that we both knew this was not going to last long, so we headed home. It just wasn’t meant to be today:(

Then it was time to finally try out the new roof rack we had purchased a few weeks ago. We had been waiting on one part that had to be ordered and it arrived this week. So my husband assembled all the parts while I was working on my “to do” list. When he was ready, we took it outside and prayed it all went together like the salesman said it would. I could tell my husband was very happy with the design while he was assembling it inside, because I heard him making comments to himself. This is usually a good sign. Having two engineering minds in my house is either really good or really bad. In this case it was good. It fit on the car with ease, my SUP fit on the rack with ease and the kayak was also a good fit. Of course we had to try every kayak we have to make sure they all fit and for once a salesman was right.

IMG_4050

We took it for a ride and everything on top was happy, which made me very happy. We got some pretty strange looks from people passing by and our neighbors had to think we were losing our minds, but we did not care. Sadly, we arrived back, took it all back off the rack and replaced all our toys in their proper places in the garage. Just a few more weeks until we can get wet.

Which brings us to dinner time. This is why you do not take your husband shopping with you. This is one of the things I DID NOT have on my list that he just had to have the moment he saw them while at Costco.

IMG_4052

He loves dungeness crab so he talked me into trying one. I think they are quite scary looking and he knows I hate crab legs because they are hard to break. He offered to grill them, help clean them and break my shells if they were difficult. How could I turn down all that assistance? SOLD, we bought two. He did all what he said and I must admit, they were delicious. I also threw together a quick kale and quinoa salad to accompany this sea creature. For a quick throw together salad, it was very tasty. Even my husband liked it and I was a little worried he would not.

IMG_4057

List completed:) I went to bed with a clear mind. Sunday I wished him a fun day ice fishing for probably the last time this winter and my plans are to catch up on reading, get in a HIIT workout and enjoy curry chicken with my son for dinner. (Hubby is not big curry fan, so we take advantage of when he is not home for dinner.)

Hope you all had a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

