Milwaukee Museum, REI, Trader Joes….A Day Of Fun

This past weekend we just could not face another day inside. With the temperatures well below the tolerable point, we packed into the car and headed south to Milwaukee to celebrate my birthday a few days early.

The Milwaukee Public Museum has a special attraction right now called Body Worlds. The human body has always been a fascination of mine. So I was beyond excited to have the chance to go see this.

IMG_3900

Even though they allowed no photography inside the exhibit itself, I can assure you that if health, fitness, sickness and the development of the human body is something you enjoy, you will love this exhibit.

Admission to the rest of the museum is also included when you pay for the special attraction so we spent the rest of the morning touring the three floors. My favorite exhibits were the Japanese garden which just looks so peaceful.

IMG_3905

The African huts.

IMG_3919

And the wall of perfection. Patterns have always been something that is pleasing to my eyes.

IMG_3914

My husband and son enjoy the butterfly room, where you enter double doors and walk through this real life exhibit. The butterflies land on you, fly near you and sometimes even follow you out(hence the double doors).

IMG_3931

This is not so much my cup of tea, so to say. I like butterflies and all but from a distance is where I prefer them.

After the museum we headed to my favorite outdoor sport store, REI. I have been waiting patiently to visit an REI since Christmas to purchase a set of new hiking poles. Yes, I could have ordered them online but from experience, I knew I needed to hold the hand grip in person to see if I would like them first. I was specifically looking for a pair of Leki’s because these came highly recommended from our trail guides we had in Utah. I fell in love with a pair the second I held them in my hands. Thankfully, I had a gift certificate from one of my daycare families left from Christmas and the rest was my birthday gift.

I also found a few other things while I was there. A half buff to wear under my kayaking helmet and for a headband during workouts. A new water bottle, because our Nalgene’s don’t fit in the drink holders of our new car. This will drive me crazy to always have it tipping over, so I bought one that would fit. And some Clif Shot Bloks because that time of year is coming and they work great on the river while paddling.

IMG_3941

I would say this trip to REI was a success….then again I can’t say I have ever left without spending at least a little money.

Next, it was time to fill our bellies with some pizza from California Pizza Company. When we travel we always try and find a place to eat that we do not have in Green Bay.

IMG_3938

It was a big hit with us all. We loved the thin crust pizza and the menu was huge. I can see us trying this out again in the future.

And what would a trip to Milwaukee be for me if I did not stop at Trader Joe’s? This would never happen. I just can’t resist, they have so many things that I just love. It’s funny because upon entering, all three of us go our separate ways and I usually have the cart. My boys will return with arms full of all there favorites while I try and get all the rest of the things we love from here. We try and make this trip every three months or so, just to stock up.

All in all it was a long day of fun. It sure beats sitting at home another Sunday waiting for warmer weather.

Leave a Reply

