Bidding Farewell to January

Today being the last day of January gives me hope that February can only be better. It has been a long month for us. I will gladly flip the page on the calendar to February.

I normally am prepared for all the normal January things to happen. New health plans start, deductibles start over, grocery prices are noticeably higher, all my daycare kids come back from the holidays sick from seeing so many people and eating so much junk, etc.. Although, this January someone up above seemed to think I needed a little more stress.

First with a back ailment for two weeks, which made me pretty crabby. Ok, so I’ll be honest, I was a down right bitch, pain is not my friend. Finally, I made an appointment to visit my chiropractor and between him and my massage therapist(my hubby) I am feeling much better.

Then our refrigerator decided to start smelling of melting plastic..which after 20 years I guess I should have been happy it lasted this long. What woman does not like new shiny appliances, right? Well, I don’t. Don’t get me wrong, I do like our new refrigerator but I was also content with the other one. Oh, and the most stressful thing about the whole refrigerator event was the delivery and installation of the new one. Although, being the hot headed red head that I am, I took care of that issue the next day and was refunded a nice chunk of money for their carelessness. Which made me very happy:)

Then two days after the refrigerator event, our truck transmission decided to leak. Spectacular!!! I have no idea why, but if there is one thing I hate spending money on it’s vehicle repair. Oh and don’t forget, it’s -40 outside with the wind chill on this date, so my husband was not about to even look at it until it warmed up. Yeh, -40, you read it right. Crazy! So after two days of wicked temps, my husband and son took it apart, installed the new part and thankfully, so thankfully they were able to fix it for a grand total of $55.00. Then two days after that, another leak from a different area. This time it was brought in to be repaired because again we had wicked wind chills and who wants to take apart a cold metal vehicle when it’s this darn cold. Needless to say the bill was not so pretty this time.

Then we had a health scare with my husband, but after a visit to the doctors office, everything turned out fine with this. My advice for everyone is,”when in doubt, get it checked out.”

Which brings us to today, the last day of January. My back is feeling good, we have our new refrigerator, our truck is repaired, we are all healthy and tomorrow is February. Thank goodness.

Leave a Reply

